Civil Rights Movement

In this website, the editors present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.

Over 270 African American newspapers published between 1827 and 1998.

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of this region. Coverage varies from 1873-2016.

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.

This collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Periodicals, scholarly articles and the UNC archival collection.

This module from ProQuest's History Vault documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. In addition to records on the slave trade, this module also includes letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in 19th century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.

Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.