Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

BSC 6840: Professional Development in Biology

What are citation makers and managers?

A citation maker is a web-based site that allows you to make a citation on the fly. Most have a very limited amount of styles available.

Citation managers which are commonly referred to as bibliographic, reference, or citation managers, these tools are freely available (you can upgrade for a fee) and allow you to build your own database of resources in a wide variety of formats. Each allows you to:

  • Upload citations from databases
  • Use plugins in Google and other browsers to add resources to your folders
  • Create bibliographies in a wide variety of styles, including many used by specific journals
  • Use a plugin for Word or Google Docs that inserts in-text citations and build your bibliography at the same time

Below you will find information for Zotero and Mendeley two of the commonly used citation managers. Though both work a bit differently they provide similar services and document outputs.

BibCitation

BibCitation is a web site that allows you to make bibliographies and citations on the fly.  It has a wide variety of formats it can site, however you must locate the items you need to site through it's searching function and select the correct one.

Note: To create the correct citation for Biology you will need to change the citation style to wetlands.

Zotero

Zotero is an open-source bibliographic management tool that allows you to save citations directly from library databases in any citation format you choose. You can also use Zotero to create bibliographies and lists of references for term papers. Zotero is free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate. It requires a one-time download.

If you have a RefWorks account, you'll want to transfer your citations from RefWorks to Zotero. Zotero is available by clicking the red button above. 

Zotero FAQs: https://www.zotero.org/support/frequently_asked_questions
Zotero - Support guides and information
Quick Guide - Creating bibliographies with Zotero

Mendeley


Like Zotero, Mendeley is an open-source bibliographic management tool that will allow you to save citations directly from library databases in any format you choose. Mendeley is also free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate.
 

‚ÄčMendeley Help Guide

Mendeley Videos and Tutorials


Quick Guides:
Creating Bibliographies with Mendeley - Desktop pdf
Creating Bibliographies with Mendeley - Web pdf
Creating In-text Citations and Corresponding Bibliographies using the Mendeley - MS Word Plug-in pdf