Online Book Display

Featuring an outstanding group of leading theorists and researchers from the fields of multicultural psychology and counselling, this book begins with chapters on how the interplay of such variables of class, gender, and race interact in the development of an individual in a pluralistic society. It then presents theories on how to integrate issues of class, gender and race into counselling theory.

Developed by a stellar editorial team and containing contributions by leading authorities in the area of racial and ethnic minority psychology, this handbook presents a thorough, scholarly overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues in the United States and should prove to be an indispensable resource to both minority and non-minority communities. It focuses on the professional, methodological, social and developmental, clinical, and applied and preventive issues shaping the field today. Highlighting leading research and application in the area of ethnic minority psychology, the handbook will help set the direction of scholarly work in the area for years to come.

This book describes how therapists can combine multicultural theory with their own lived experience to meaningfully engage clients in issues of culture. Many mental health practitioners (MHPs) today recognize and affirm the importance of cultural background -- race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality -- in their clients' lives. But many MHPs struggle to address cultural issues in practice, whether because of unfamiliarity, or fear of giving offense, or because the presence of cultural differences or similarities between client and therapist that can make it difficult to view the client objectively.

This thought-provoking book investigates the impact of racism (both conscious and unconscious) in mental health settings, covering individual clinical encounters and the broader picture of service provision. The authors offer insights into manifestations of racism in contemporary Britain; racial and cultural identity and the significance of these in psychotherapy; and the inequalities in provision of mental health services to minority ethnic communities. They consider the problems of racism and mental health, not in isolation but in the larger context of cultural difference and social inequalities, and also on the level of human relationships. Bringing together the experiences of mental health professionals and incorporating a service user's perspective, this book provides many practical strategies for addressing racism and dealing with its effects in psychiatric work, and will prove useful and informative to practitioners in many areas of mental health work.

This book enables front line practitioners to understand why it is important to consider the specific needs of people from black and minority ethnic (BME) backgrounds in mental health settings. It offers practical guidance on how practitioners can take positive steps to improve the quality of their work and their relationships with BME service users, and ultimately how to improve their outcomes. By advocating the practice of recognizing the individuality of each service user, this book provides practitioners with the tools and information they need to work fairly and effectively. Case examples of organisations that have achieved a quality of delivery that is valued by BME people are included, along with exercises that help practitioners to make links between theory and their individual practice. It is invaluable reading for all those working on the front line in mental health.

This widely used clinical reference and text provides a wealth of knowledge on culturally sensitive practice with families and individuals from over 40 different ethnic groups. Each chapter demonstrates how ethnocultural factors may influence the assumptions of both clients and therapists, the issues people bring to the clinical context, and their resources for coping and problem solving.

Mental Health Professionals, Minorities, and the Poor provides mental health professionals with information essential to the accurate assessment and effective treatment of diver populations.

Counseling American Minorities provides information about the history and experiences, physical and mental health needs, and treatment preferences of African Americans, American Indians, Asian Americans, and Hispanic Americans, as well as an examination of how psychological service providers might better provide mental health services to members of each group. Chapters were written by multicultural experts who have first-hand personal and professional exposure to the experiences and needs of members of each group.

Although forced migration is not new in human history it has become, in our time, one of the world's major problems. In the last few decades, armed conflict and political unrest have created vast numbers of asylum seekers, refugees and displaced persons. This has led, in turn to increasing involvement of professional care workers and agencies, both governmental and nongovernmental. While there is no doubt on the part of helping parties that care is necessary, there is considerable debate about the kind of care that is needed. This book presents a critical review of mental health care provisions for people who have had to leave their homeland, and explores the controversies surrounding this topic. Providing fresh perspectives on an age old problem, this book covers humanitarian aid and reconstruction programs as well as service provision in host countries. It is of interest to all those who provide health services, create policy, and initiate legislation for these populations.

Offers a thorough treatment of the concepts, theoretical developments, research, and applications in racial-cultural psychology and counseling. Volume 1 focuses on theory and research, and covers the concepts of race, ethnicity, culture, acculturation, religion and spirituality, measurement, ethical research, socialization, and emerging areas of inquiry. Volume 2 focuses on practice and training, and addresses such topics as: training models, assessment, supervision, group therapy, vocational counseling, supervision, ethics, couples and family therapy, and continuing education.