Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

A Scholar's Guide to Pandemics

COVID-19 is a new virus but the phenomenon of pandemics, and epidemics, has long been a fact of life. This guide offers multidisciplinary resources and subjects throughout the university curriculum. Take this opportunity to study what we have long known a

Online Encyclopedias

              These sources are just the tip of the iceberg. To explore ideas, find other sources, or get citation assistance, Ask a Librarian.                                                              

 Image result for encyclopedias vintage

Encyclopedia Images, Stock Photos, and Vectors.Shutterstock..com Accessed 19.  March 2020. Digital image.

These sources will provide you with the general knowledge required for informed and accurate curiosity. Like Wikipedia, yes, but more credible. More credible encyclopedias and sources can be found in UWF Library's Credo Reference database. Pay attention to related subjects and topics to the right of each page!


Pandemic: Frey, R. J. (2013). Pandemic. In Gale (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of public health. Gale. Credo Reference.

EpidemicGhosh, D. (2007). Epidemic. In P. Robbins, Encyclopedia of environment and society. Sage Publications. Credo Reference.

Influenza Pandemic of 1918Encyclopedia of the Early 20th Century (1900 to 1950)." World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set, edited by Facts on File, Facts On File, 1st edition, 2016. Credo Reference.

Pandemic PreparednessPlenda, Melanie R. "Pandemic Preparedness." Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues, edited by K. Lee Lerner, Gale, 1st edition, 2016. Credo Reference.