Skip to main content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

UWF Institutional Repository (IR)

IR @ UWF

IR webpage screen shot

 

Welcome! The UWF University Libraries are proud to host the Institutional Repository (IR), an open-access online showcase of research, scholarship, and creativity from the WF community. The UWF IR is a digital repository that captures, archives and, disseminates the research, creative, and scholarly output of faculty, students, and staff in the University of West Florida community.

The purpose of the Institutional Repository (https://ir.uwf.edu/) is to:

+  Support university research and scholarship

+  Enhance visibility of faculty publications and presentations

+  Promote scholarly communication through open access

+  Increase citation impact of research

+  Openly share access to the scholarly output of UWF faculty, students, and staff 

What is an Institutional Repository?

An institutional repository is a single, online place where a community (in this case, the University of West Florida) gathers and preserves scholarly output produced by its members and makes these materials available to the world (copyright permitting). This output may include both publications in peer-reviewed journals and materials not published elsewhere (datasets, pre-prints, post-prints, performance recordings, syllabi, theses and dissertations, book chapters, etc).

As defined by in Crow's paper, The Case for Institutional Repositories: A SPARC Position Paper

"Institutional repositories—digital collections that capture and preserve the intellectual output of university communities—respond to two strategic issues facing academic institutions: 1) they provide a central component in reforming scholarly communication by stimulating innovation in a disaggregated publishing structure; and 2) they serve as tangible indicators of an institution’s quality, thus increasing its visibility, prestige, and public value."

Benefits of Institutional Repositories

 

Link to Benefits of Institutional Repositories

 

Hankins, Heather, "Benefits of Institutional Repositories (Video)" (2019). Digital Commons Training Materials. 9.
https://digitalcommons.kennesaw.edu/training/9

Behind the scenes

UWF Libraries hosts it's IR with Lyrasis on an Islandora open-access (OA) software platform. Islandora has an active, open-source community that provides documentation and other resources. In addition to hosting our scholarly works, Islandora provides use statistics and allows for Almetrics Badges which expands information about the global reach of items in the repository.

As part of our upload process, we create the metadata file that accompanies the materials you submit. Metadata creation is analogous to the process of creating a catalog record for a book. Although the metadata file is separate from the work uploaded, it allows search engines, like Google, to find your works. Just like you find a book in a library catalog by searching the bibliographic records created to describe library-owned materials, other people can find your scholarly works when doing online searches because the metadata file accompanying your works contains keywords, publication information, and abstracts or summaries that describe your works. 

Every published document's copyright and its publisher's policies are reviewed using SHERPA/RoMEO, a service-based resource hosted by the University of Nottingham. SHERPA/RoMEO is a database that provides copyright and open access self-archiving policies of academic journals. RoMEO has collaborative relationships with many international partners, who contribute time and effort to developing and maintaining the serviceThis publisher and journal information in the database presents authors and others with "open access pathways"  for submitting documents to repositories and other OA sites. Each journal record contains full journal information with links to their originating site, policies related to a variety of manuscript versions, and approved repositories. 

 

"Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment."  (SPARC, n.d.)

SPARC.(n.d.) Open Access. https://sparcopen.org/open-access/

Rights Statement

Permission granted to the University of West Florida to digitize and display this item for non-profit research and educational purposes. Any reuse of this item in excess of fair use or other copyright exemptions requires the permission of the copyright holder.