Skip to main content

World Religions: Books

This guide provides specific information on conducting academic research for the World Religions - REL 1300 course.

Helpful Search Terms

  • Agnosticism
  • Animism
  • Atheism
  • Avatar
  • Bhagavad Gita
  • Bible
  • Buddhism
  • Confucius
  • Coptic
  • Crusades
  • Cult
  • Dao
  • Dharma
  • Divinity
  • Faith
  • Ganesha
  • God
  • Hasidism
  • Hinduism
  • Incarnation
  • Islam
  • Jesus
  • Judaism
  • Karma
  • Krishna
  • Magic
  • Messiah
  • Mormonism
  • New Religion
  • Paganism
  • Pantheism
  • Prophet
  • Protestantism
  • Reincarnation
  • Religion
  • Roman Catholic Church
  • Scripture
  • Sikh
  • Spirituality
  • Tao
  • Torah
  • Wicca
  • Zen

Background Sources

Encyclopedias   

Catholic Encyclopedia http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/
Contemporary American Religion. 2000. (Ref BL2525 .C65 2000)
Encyclopedia of African American Religions. 1993. (Ref. BR 563 .N4 E53 1993)
Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects and New Religions. 2002. (Ref. BL 2525 .E49 2002)
Encyclopaedia Judaica. 16 vols. 1971-72. (Ref DS 102.8 E496)
Encyclopaedia of Islam. 10 vols. 1960- (Ref. DS 37 .E523)
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. (Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 1998) & Emerald Coast Library
Encyclopedia of Religion. 16 vols. 1987. (Ref BL 31 .E46 1987)
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society. 1998. (Ref. BL60 .E53 1998)
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion. 1999. (Ref BL458 .E53 1999)
New Catholic Encyclopedia.
1967- (Ref. BX 841 .N44 1967)

Dictionaries

Bible Study Tools on the Internet
Glossary of Islamic Terms and Concepts on the Internet
Harper's Bible Dictionary. 1985. (Ref.BS 440 .H2371 1985) & Emerald Coast Library. For an online biblical lexicon see http://Bible.crosswalk.com/Lexicons/
Oxford Dictionary of World Religions. 1997. (Ref. BL 31. O84 1997)

 

Books in the Catalog

Subject Guide

Online Reference Resources

There are almost 450 reference materials in Credo , our new online reference database. Many are specifically related to religion:  

 Critical Terms for Religious Studies

 Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism

 Need to Know? Islam

 The New Encyclopedia of Judaism

Additional religion reference resources available online:

 Religions of the world