This is the "Home" page of the "University Archives and West Florida History Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University Archives and West Florida History Center  

Last Updated: Jun 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwf.edu/universityarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Staff

Dean DeBolt
University Archivist
ddebolt@uwf.edu
(850) 474-2213

 

 

 

 


Brooke Bowers
Digital Archivist
bbowers1@uwf.edu
(850) 474-2456

Stephanie Johnson
Assistant Archivist
sjohnson4@uwf.edu
(850) 474-2794

 

Hours

University Archives and West Florida History Center currently observes the following schedule:

 Regular Hours

  Monday – Friday         

   8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

   12:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

  Saturday & Sunday    

    CLOSED

 View our schedule for holidays and other times of the year on the Library Hours page.

 

 

Contact Us

Fax

(850) 474-3338

Address-

University Archives and West Florida History Center
UWF Libraries
Bldg. 32
11000 University Pkwy
Pensacola, FL 32514

 

University Archives and West Florida History Center

The University Archives and West Florida History Center has approximately 800 collections totaling about 1.8 million items.    A collection may consist of personal papers, manuscripts, genealogical and business records, photographs, maps, audio and video materials, and other sources of information.  For most entries, we also place a ‘tickler’ collection-level entry in the library online catalog as well.

 

We have one of the largest research collections in existence on West Florida, its history, development, and people from earliest settlement to the present, covering aspects of the region.   In addition, we are also the archives of the University of West Florida.

 

IMPORTANT:  This website only covers a small portion of our actual collections and holdings – which include 1.8 million items in over 800 collections, 250,000 photographs, 6,000 maps, and other materials with new research materials arriving daily.   Visits, phone-calls, and e-mails to the Department are highly encouraged.

 

 

Search our Guide to Manuscripts and Special Collections (Online Resource)

 

This link provides access to a collection description (short abstract) of each collection held in the University Archives and West Florida History Center.   Each collection also has an inventory listing the folders and contents of each box of records.   For example, the Guide may have a paragraph describing the collection, but the inventory could be a listing of the contents of over 100 boxes.    If a collection inventory is not online (see Archon below), then it is available in the Center.  (Scope:  700+ collections).

 

 

Search our Archon Catalog  (Online Resource)

 

The Archon Catalog includes both the collection description and the collection inventory for searching by name, subject, title, etc.   BUT … Archon only covers about 240 of the 700 collections in the Department…this is constantly changing as we add new inventories and collections.   Remember that the collection inventories can be consulted in the University Archives and West Florida History Center or by contacting the staff of the department.    Archon also includes digital objects such as digitized photographs, documents, and other files.

 

 

Using Collections

 

If the Guide or Archon search does not answer your question, please contact the staff of the Department as we have numerous resources that are not online or described in the catalog and we can suggest other avenues of research in answering your question.

 

 

 

 

Dean's Blog about the Department

Visit Dean's Blog about the Department to see what's new in the University Archives and West Florida History Center as well as his insights into archives, special collections, libraries, and much, much more! 

 

Found It in the Archives!

General Chuck Horner is a member of the UWF Board of Trustees and was
elected its chairman in December 2010.  He was first appointed to the Board
by Governor Jeb Bush and has served on the Board since 2004.   This Desert
Storm trading card, from our collections, highlights his command of the
American aerial forces and those of the American allies during Operation Desert Shield and Desert Storm, 1990-1991.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip