Skip to main content

Nursing: Introduction

A guide to resources and research in nursing. See also, http://libguides.uwf.edu/ebp for evidence based practice

Welcome

This guide is designed to help you find library resources and services. The tabs above are labeled by type of resource:

  • Articles - how to use databases to find scholarly articles and  other resources
  • CINAHL - an introduction to a comprehensive nursing database
  • Books - features new books in nursing and online reference materials
  • Web Sites - a collection of medical web sites
  • EBP - information about evidence based research (a separate guide is available as well)
  • Open Education Resources - freely available resources (no subscriptions necessary)
  • After Graduation - some job and career resources

Tutorials

Getting Oriented

The online learners guide introduces you to online services and resources at a distance. Also, check out this short video about online learning resources:

Navigating to Articles

Often, assignments require your to research topics in scholarly articles. Use the Articles and CINAHL tabs for more details and watch this short video on how to find articles:

FAQs

Why can't I get into the databases? Make sure you are logged on from the library home page. Use your Argonet username and password.
Why isn't my account working? Contact the Circulation Department (850-474-2414) or http://libguides.uwf.edu/circulation
If I can't see full text articles in the database, am I out of luck? Most databases have a FINDIT link that will attempt to find the full text version of the article in another database
How can I tell if UWF has a book or a journal? Check the online catalog by title for a book or journal
What do databases do? They allow you to search for journal articles and other resources by subject or keyword
Is there a list of online journals? Yes, there is an e-journal list on the third tab of the library home page. Many are also listed in the online catalog.
Is there a list of online books? Search for online books in the online catalog by limiting to an online format or use the facets on the side of the screen to narrow to online resources
How can I find articles on my topic? Use a database. A multidisciplinary database is OneSearch, the first tab on the Library's home page. Others are listed alphabetically and by subject . You may also identify databases by using research guides.
I am getting frustrated, can I get some help? Yes, contact the reference staff on Chat or email, call us (850-474-2424), or contact a subject specialist

The FINDIT link takes me to a database but I  don't see my article; what do I do?

Sometimes, the link doesn't work as well as it should. If you are linked to another database, but not directly to the article, search the database by table of contents or by subject and author.
IF FINDIT doesn't list a full text option, what do I do? You may request the article from interlibrary loan. Be sure to identify yourself as a distance learner if you are requesting books and are over 50 miles from a UWF campus.
Can I use Google Scholar to find articles? Yes, many articles are listed there and you may even be linked back to a UWF database to see the full text. If you are blocked or asked for a fee, make sure you log in and check the  e-journal list to see if we have an online subscription. It is a good idea to use our online databases to search and not limit yourself to Google.

If I used OneSearch, do I need to use any other databases?

OneSearch, like many general databases, will include something on almost any topic and it includes results from many database but not all of them. The most comprehensive coverage of a topic is in a subject specific database such as Psycinfo for Psychology or ERIC for Education.
There is no book on my topic, what do I do? Try using a broader or different term and use synonyms to make sure you are not missing relevant sources. Don't hesitate to ask for help from the librarians!

Subject Guide

Hillary Fox
Contact:
John C. Pace Library

Bldg. 32 / Rm. 136

(850) 474-2358

hfox@uwf.edu