Steps to Finding Articles
Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., Medline)
Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.
Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article
Use
or SFX to link to full text articles available in other databases
Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need
Articles not at UWF
Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF
Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal
You will be emailed when they articles are available
Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 5 days for articles to arrive
FAQs
| Why can't I get into the databases? | Make sure you are logged on from the library homepage. Use your Argonet username and password. |
| Why isn't my account working? | Contact the Circulation Department (850-474-2414) or email aziegler@uwf.edu |
| If I can't see full text articles in the database, am I out of luck? | Most databases have a FINDIT or SFX link that will attempt to find the full text version of the article in another database |
| How can I tell if UWF has a book or a journal? | Check the online catalog by title for a book or journal |
| What do databases do? | They allow you to search for journal articles and other resources by subject or keyword |
| Is there a list of online journals? | Yes, there is an e-journal list. Many are also listed in the online catalog. |
| Is there a list of online books? | Search for online books in the online catalog by limiting to an online format or use the facets on the side of the screen to narrow to online resources |
| How can I find articles on my topic? | Use a database. A general one is OneSearch on the Library's Homepage. Others are listed alphabetically and by subject . You may also identify databases by using research guides. |
| I am getting frustrated, can I get some help? | Yes, contact the reference staff on Chat or email, call us (850-474-2424), or contact a subject specialist |
|
The FINDIT link takes me to a database but I don't see my article; what do I do? |
Sometimes, the link doesn't work as well as it should. If you are linked to another database, but not directly to the article, search the database by table of contents or by subject and author. |
| IF FINDIT doesn't list a full text option, what do I do? | You may request the article from interlibrary loan. Be sure to identify yourself as a distance learner. |
| Can I use Google Scholar to find articles? | Yes, many articles are listed there and you may even be linked back to a UWF database to see the full text. If you are blocked or asked for a fee, make sure you log in and check the e-journal list to see if we have an online subscription. It is a good idea to use our online databases to search and not limit yourself to Google. |
|
If I used General OneFile, do I need to use any other databases? |
General Onefile, like many general databases, will include something on almost any topic. But the most comprehensive coverage of a subject is in a specific database such as Psycinfo for Psychology or ERIC for Education. |
| There is no book on my topic, what do I do? | Try using a broader or different term and use synonyms to make sure you are not missing relevant sources |
Medical Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextThe most comprehensive database to articles in nursing and other health related areas. Almost 3000 nursing and allied health journals are indexed in this database, 400 of them are available full text.
- MEDLINE (OCLC)comprehensive index to over 4,300 international medical journals, including citations from International Nursing Index and Index to Dental Literature. Subject headings are listed online at NLM
- Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)Provides indexing of over 1000 journals (875 are full text) in nursing and other health professions. Over 12000 full text dissertations are included.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center - Gale GroupThe Health and Wellness Resource Center provides full text information from medical dictionaries, encyclopedias, journals, and other resources. This comprehensive health database covers most areas of sports medicine.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextSPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
- Physical Education Index (ProQuest)This database allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
- DIRLineDirectory of Health organizations from the national Library of Medicine.
- HIV/AIDS Information (USDHHS)
- Human Genome Abstracts (ProQuest)
- OVID Nursing Collection
- Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts (CSA)Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Science Databases
- ScienceDirectA comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
- Web of ScienceThomson Reuters Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Biological Abstracts (1969-present). It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Thomson Reuters Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
- Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)Coverage of general science, applied science and technology, and biological and agricultural articles. Some available full text.
- Wiley Online LibraryWiley provides broad and deep coverage of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Many articles are available full text.
How to Find Articles
Science Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Managing Citations
Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.
First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use.
Once records are in RefWorks, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.
Use the Refworks Tutorial to learn more about this useful database.
RefWorks is accessible from the list of online databases on the homepage.

Loading...
