This is the "Articles" page of the "Maritime Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maritime Studies   Tags: marine, maritime, oceans  

A guide to library resources on maritime studies.
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwf.edu/maritime Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., America History and Life)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or SFX to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need 

      

    Managing Citations

    Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.

    First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. 

    Once records are in RefWorks, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.

    Use the Refworks Tutorial to learn more about this useful database.

    RefWorks is accessible from the list of online databases on the homepage.

        

      Maritime Studies Databases

      • America: History & Life (EBSCO Publishing)(Abstracts)
        Bibliographic database covering the scholarly historical literature in the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
      • Anthropology Plus (Abstracts)
        This database contains abstracts on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. International coverage from the 19th century to the present is provided.
      • Web of Science
        Thomson Reuters Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Biological Abstracts (1969-present). It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Thomson Reuters Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
      • JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections
        JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
      • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
        With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
      • Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
        Coverage of general science, applied science and technology, and biological and agricultural articles. Some available full text.
      • ScienceDirect
        A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

      General Databases

      • Academic OneFile
        Academic OneFile provides access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the journals and reference sources. Academic Onefile is comprehensive and cross disciplinary
      • Academic Search Complete
        Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
      • Access World News (Trial)
        This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
      • Credo Reference
        Offering more than 490 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
      • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
        With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
      • General OneFile
        Gale Group database for research in all academic disciplines. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
      • General Reference Center Gold
        Gale's General Reference Center Gold on InfoTrac Web provides one-stop access to general interest magazines, business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles.
      • JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections
        JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
      • OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
        With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. ...
      • Project Muse - Standard Collection
        Project MUSE offers full-text access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
      • WorldCat
        OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
       

      How to Find Articles

      Science Librarian

      Profile Image
      Caroline Thompson
      Contact Info
      (850) 474-2412
      Bldg. 32/Rm. 139
      cthompson@uwf.edu
      Send Email
      Scheduler:

      Articles not at UWF

      Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF

      Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal

      You will be emailed when they articles are available

      Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 5 days for articles to arrive

       

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip