This is the "Books" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guide to research materials in law.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwf.edu/law Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books and More

OneSearch

 

New Books


Cover Art
Immigration Battle in American Courts - Anna O. Law.
Call Number: NetLibrary
ISBN: 0521767083


Cover Art
On Philosophy in American Law - Francis J. Mootz III
Call Number: K235.O57 2009
ISBN: 0521883687

Cover Art
Courts and kids : pursuing educational equity through the state courts - Michael Rebell
Call Number: KF4155.R43 2009
ISBN: 0226706192

Cover Art
Civil Liberties - Roman Espejo
Call Number: KF4750 .C495 2009
ISBN: 9780737743562


Background Sources

 CITATION GUIDES

Bluebook, a Uniform System of Citation
. 2000. (Ref. KF 245 B58)
The Uniform System of Citation, known as the bluebook, is the standard reference source for the rules and principles of citing legal materials. See also:

  • User's Guide to The Bluebook (Ref. KF 245 D853 2000)
  • Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citations (Ref. KF 246 B45 2001)
  • ALWD Citation Manual (Ref. KF 245 A45 2003)
  • Introduction to Basic Legal Citation 2010 (http://www.law.cornell.edu/citation)
  • The Redbook: A Manual on Legal Style. 2002. (Ref. KF 250 G375 2002)

RESEARCH GUIDES 

Fundamentals of Legal Research
. 1998. (Ref. KF 240 J32)

Federal Legislative History Research. 2001. (http://www.llsdc.org/Fed-Leg-Hist/)

Legal Analyst: A Toolkit for Thinking About the Law. 2007. (Ebrary)

Legal Information: How to Find It, How to Use It. 1999. (Ref. KF 240 O365)

Legal Research & Writing Handbook: A Basis Approach for Paralegals. 3rd edition. 2003. (KF 240 Y45 2003)

Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law. 2003. (Netlibrary) and (Ref.KF 240.E35 1997) 


ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES 

American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Court Cases. 2005 (Ref. HV 7411 C48 2005)

American Jurisprudence. 2nd Edition. 83 Volumes. 1962- (UWF Library Law Collection KF 154 A42)

Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations: Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students. 2001. (Ref. KF 246 B46 2001)

Black's Law Dictionary. 2004. (Ref. Desk KF 156 E532) FWB

Dictionary of Selected Legal Terms. 2009. (Ref. KF 156 J37 2009)

Findlaw's Legal Reference (Findlaw)

Dictionary of International and Comparative Law. 2003. (Ref. KZ 1161 F69 2003)

Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement. 2007. (Emerald Coast HV8133 N48 2007)

Encyclopedia of Law and Society. 2007. (Ref. K583 E53 2007)

Ethics in the U.S. Government: An Encyclopedia of Investigations, Scandals, Reforms, and Legislation. 2001. (Ref. JK 468 E7 R556)

Legal Systems of the World:  A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. 2002. 4 volumes. (Ref. K 48 L44 2002)

Magill's Legal Guide. 2000. (Ref. KF 385 M35)

Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession. 2001. (Ref. KF 156 B49 2001)

Oxford Dictionary of American Legal Quotations. 1993. (Ref. KF 159 S53)

Philosophy of Law, an Encyclopedia. 1999. (Ref. K 204 P49)

Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Citations. 2001. (Ref. KF 246 P73 2001)

Words and Phrases. 1958-. 46 volumes with annual updates. (Ref. KF 156 W6712)


HANDBOOKS, YEARBOOKS AND MANUALS

American Law Yearbook. Annual. (Ref. KF 154 W472)

Great American Trials. 1994. (Ref. KF 220 G74)

Independent Counsel: The Law and the Investigators. 2001. (Ref. KF 5107.5 J64)

NALA Manual for Legal Assistants. 1999 (Ref. KF 320 L4 N34 )

Oceana Publications.
A series of individually titled treatments of various aspects of law. Examples:

  • Home Mortgage Law Primer. 2009. (Ref. KF 695 F69 2009)
  • How to Protect Elders From Harm. 2009 (Ref. KF 1257 O724 2009)
  • Law of Obscentity and Pornography. 2009. (Ref. KF 9444 J37 2009)
  • Transportation Law: Passenger Rights and Responsibilities. 2009. (Ref. KF 7745 J37 2009)
  • Understanding Trademark Law. 2009. KF 3180 T36 2009)
  • Veteran's Rights and Benefits. 2009. (Ref. KF 7745 J37 2009)

Oxford Companion to American Law. 2002. (Ref. KF 154 O96 2002)

Oxford Handbook of Jurisprudence and Philosophy of Law
. 2002. (Ref. K 230 O95 A36 2002)

DIRECTORIES
Congressional Committee Prints

Florida Bar Journal. Annual. http://www.flabar.org/.

Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory. 1996-2003 (Ref. KF 190 M3)
Also available in Lexis Nexis Academic.

Official Guide to ABA-approved Law Schools. 2010. (Ref. Desk KF 273 A86) & FWB
See also Barron's Guide to Law Schools (Ref. Desk KF 266 B3 2008) and American Law Sources On-Line  http://www.lawsource.com/also/usa.cgi?usl


BIOGRAPHIES

The American Bench: Judges of the Nation. 1977-1991/92. (Ref. KF 8775 A1 A5)
For Florida judges see Florida State Courts http://www.flcourts.org and Florida Legal Resources http://www.law.ufl.edu/lic/links/florida/.

Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States. 2005. (Ref. KF 8742 A35 O93 2005)


LEGAL FORMS

American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated. 25 Volumes. 1988- (Ref. KF 8836 A45)

More Everyday Legal Forms. 2001. (Ref. KF 170 S45)

Complete Book of Personal Legal Forms. 2005. (online)

101 Law Forms for Personal Use. 2005 (NetLibrary)

 

      

    FAQs

    Why can't I get into the databases? Make sure you are logged on from the library homepage. Use your Argonet username and password.
    Why isn't my account working? Contact the Circulation Department (850-474-2414) or email aziegler@uwf.edu
    If I can't see full text articles in the database, am I out of luck? Most databases have a FINDIT or SFX link that will attempt to find the full text version of the article in another database
    How can I tell if UWF has a book or a journal? Check the online catalog by title for a book or journal
    What do databases do? They allow you to search for journal articles and other resources by subject or keyword
    Is there a list of online journals? Yes, there is an e-journal list. Many are also listed in the online catalog.
    Is there a list of online books? Search for online books in the online catalog by limiting to an online format or use the facets on the side of the screen to narrow to online resources
    How can I find articles on my topic? Use a database. A general one is OneSearch on the Library's Homepage. Others are listed alphabetically and by subject . You may also identify databases by using research guides.
    I am getting frustrated, can I get some help? Yes, contact the reference staff on Chat or email, call us (850-474-2424), or contact a subject specialist

    The FINDIT link takes me to a database but I  don't see my article; what do I do?

    Sometimes, the link doesn't work as well as it should. If you are linked to another database, but not directly to the article, search the database by table of contents or by subject and author.
    IF FINDIT doesn't list a full text option, what do I do? You may request the article from interlibrary loan. Be sure to identify yourself as a distance learner.
    Can I use Google Scholar to find articles? Yes, many articles are listed there and you may even be linked back to a UWF database to see the full text. If you are blocked or asked for a fee, make sure you log in and check the  e-journal list to see if we have an online subscription. It is a good idea to use our online databases to search and not limit yourself to Google.

    If I used General OneFile, do I need to use any other databases?

    General Onefile, like many general databases, will include something on almost any topic. But the most comprehensive coverage of a subject is in a specific database such as Psycinfo for Psychology or ERIC for Education.
    There is no book on my topic, what do I do? Try using a broader or different term and use synonyms to make sure you are not missing relevant sources 
        

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Kellie Sparks
      Contact Info
      John C. Pace Library
      Bldg. 32 / Rm. 133
      (850) 474-2264
      ksparks@uwf.edu
      Mon.-Thurs. 12:30pm-9:00pm
      Sunday 1:00pm-9:00pm
      Send Email

      CREDO Resources

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip