Skip to main content

Health Sciences: Articles

What's on this page?

Use this page to get info on:

  • What databases are the best to use for your research
  • How to find an article
  • Access Refworks (Also check out the Citation tab!)
  • Communicate with your librarian

Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right.

Search the database with keywords and use filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need 

If an article is not available at UWF, request it on Interlibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically free of charge, usually within a few days, from libraries owning the journal. You will be emailed when they articles are available.

 

New Journal

The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a PubMed-indexed video journal. Medically related articles on topics in nursing, allied health, athletic training come to life in this new format. Check it out!!!

Database Top Picks

Health and Medicine

General

Subject Guide

Hillary Fox
Contact:
John C. Pace Library

Bldg. 32 / Rm. 136

(850) 474-2358

hfox@uwf.edu

Managing Citations

Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.

First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. 

Once records are in RefWorks, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.

Use the Refworks Tutorial to learn more about this useful database.

RefWorks is accessible from the list of online databases on the homepage.