Skip to main content

Film Studies: Articles

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., Humanities Full Text)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates. type of resources, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or to link to full text articles available in other databases

 

Articles not at UWF

Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF

Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal

You will be emailed when they articles are available

Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 4 days for articles to arrive

 

Databases

Journal articles dealing with film can be found in the following specialized print indexes and online databases:

New York Times Index. 1851- (Ref. AI 21 .N45 & Emerald Coast Library)
This subject index to the New York Times newspaper (MF #91) provides date, page, and column references. For locating a name, use the Personal Name Index to the New York Times (Ref. AI 21 N45 F3). For online access to the New York Times see below.

How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial

Watch the following video tutorial for help with finding scholarly articles:

Your Librarian

Britt McGowan
Contact:
Bldg.32 / Rm.135
(850) 474-2048

Managing Citations

Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.

First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. 

Once records are in RefWorks, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.

Use the Refworks Tutorial to learn more about this useful database.

RefWorks is accessible from the list of online databases on the homepage.