This is the "Home" page of the "Gifts and Donations to the UWF Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gifts and Donations to the UWF Libraries  

Information for potential donors to the libraries
Last Updated: May 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwf.edu/content.php?pid=259179 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Donations to the University Libraries

The Library welcomes donations and accepts them for the circulating collection in accordance with its collection development policies which have been developed to support the curriculum and research needs of the university community. Policies governing donations to the University Archives and West Florida History Center are different because its mission and needs are different. 

Not every book can be added to the collection. Items that do not match our needs may be offered to other agencies, sold, or recycled. If this is not acceptable, please discuss the gift you wish to make with Molly Brown, the Collection Development librarian, first. Molly can be reached by phone at 474-2358 or by email: mbrown5@uwf.edu. If you would like the gift to be formally acknowledged in writing, you will need to fill out a donor form, when you bring your donation to the library. The Library will acknowledge the receipt of the gift but cannot offer an appraisal of its value.

 Here are some guidelines that may be helpful with regard to giving items that will go into the circulating collection.

  • Books should be clean and unmarked. The pages should not be brittle. Otherwise the book will not stand up to use.
  • The library can accept textbooks, however review copy textbooks cannot be accepted and will not be added to the collection.
  • The Library cannot accept issues of magazines (National Geographic, Fortune, Time, Rolling Stone, and the like.).
  • Scholarly journals may be considered, if they fill in gaps in subscriptions that we have.
  • The Library cannot pick up gifts.
  • The Library cannot accept LPs, VHS or other formats for which it does not have the needed equipment.

Once received by the Library, gifts cannot be returned to the donor. Please see the Libraries' collection development policy for further details.

 

 

What Else Can I do with My Books?

There are hundreds of agencies worldwide that need books and other kinds of materials. If identifying such an agency would be of interest to you, please click on the Charitable Organizations tab at the top of this page.

If you would like to trade your books for someone else's books, Book Mooch might be just what you are looking for!

 

Is My Book Valuable?

If you need help estimating the value of your donation, several publications can help. If you are interested in taking a tax deduction, the IRS has publications that can help you understand the rules around non-cash gifts. Please click on the Value of Donations tab for further information.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip