This is the "Articles" page of the "Oil Spill" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Oil Spill   Tags: bp, cleanup, exxon, oil spill, toxic  

A collection of resources related to oil spills
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uwf.edu/oilspill Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right.

Search the database with keywords and use filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need 

If an article is not available at UWF, request it on Interlibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically free of charge, usually within a few days, from libraries owning the journal. You will be emailed when they articles are available.

Databases

Articles on the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill will be found in general and environmentally specific databases. 

  • Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
    The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
  • BioOne (ProQuest)
    This database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It provides a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.
  • Web of Science
    The Web of Science contains several databases:
    -Science Citation Index (1975 to present)
    -Social Science Citation Index (1975 to present)
    -Biological Abstracts (1969 to present)
    -Medline (1950 to present)
    -SciELO Citation Index (1997 to present)
  • Coastal Zone Information Collection (CZIC)
    Full text access to NOAA Coastal Services Center's Coastal Zone Information Collection (CZIC), which contains more than 5,000 coastal related documents over 30 years.
  • Environmental Research Letters
    An open access journal provided by IOP (Institute of Physics). It includes interdisciplinary articles on "observations, numerical modelling, theoretical and experimental approaches to environmental science, and especially science relevant to policy, impacts, and decision-making. "
  • Oceanic Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Oceanography, marine and brackish-water environment - journal articles.

Art and Science Librarian

Profile Image
Caroline Thompson
Contact Info
(850) 474-2412
Bldg. 32/Rm. 139
cthompson@uwf.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Art & Science
 

Dan North

 

 

This libguide was developed in partnership with Dan North our Acquisitions Librarian. Dan passed in May, 2011 and I dedicate this guide, which characterizes his deep and caring nature, to him.

Managing Citations

Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.

First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. 

Once records are in RefWorks, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.

Use the Refworks Tutorial to learn more about this useful database.

RefWorks is accessible from the list of online databases on the homepage.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip