A collection of annotated Web sites for those interested in Multicultural Education.
Last Updated: May 15, 2012
Electronic books are included in the library catalog or may be searched within the Netlibrary or Ebrary collections. Specific titles may be located using Instant Search in the library catalog:
- Across Cultures: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children
This reference focuses on books that deal with multicultural themes or diverse experiences. Chapters include: Identity, Self-Image, and Learning; Families, Friends, and Neighborhoods; Traditions--Food, Art, Poetry, Music, and Celebrations; Traditions--Folktales; Exploring the Past in Diverse Communities; Knowing Today's World; Parent-Child Book Discussion Groups; and Literature Circles.
- How to Choose the Best Multicultural Books
Leads to 50 great books, plus advice from top educators, writers, and illustrators on how to spot literature that transcends stereotypes.
- Multicultural Bibliography: Grades K-12
A list of multicultural readings classified for grades K-12. This site is composed by author Cynthia Leitich Smith and includes books based on ethnic, religious, regional, and international communities.
- Multicultural Children's Literature
Contains hundreds of links for teachers as well as indexes of multicultural children's books. A very useful site. This site also contains forums which allow educators to share information.
- Venture Into Cultures: A Resource Book of Multicultural Materials and Programs
This bibliography offers resources to assist educators in introducing their students to various cultures.
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Focus is to help explicate the meanings and perspectives of various terms that are used in multicultural education. It addresses both the literal meaning of the words and terms as well as the conceptual meanings and exemplars that help create those meanings. No biographical entries are included in this volume.
- Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture
The link opens to an alphabetical index of terms within a racial, ethnic, and cultural context. The definitions are based on an interdisciplinary, multicultural perspective.
- The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
The link opens to an index of Headings (encompassing several ideas, events, and topics) initially listing various areas of interest, then delineating alphabetically. Additional tabs specify People, Locations, and Images, all of which "shape our cultural conversation."
- The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
The link opens to an alphabetical index of cultural topics. It also offers an Introduction to cultural studies and to the dictionary. A search box allows user to type in a word that may be found within a topic heading.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Education
A comprehensive reference tool for researchers, teachers, scholars, students, and laypersons who are seeking information under a single cover about significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, organizations, institutions, and people relating to the education of African-Americans in the United States.
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
This encyclopedia contains over 400 entries, including events, court cases, and people that had an effect on a multicultural aspect of education. A bibliography is included for additional resources.
- Black Education: A Transformative Research and Action Agenda for the New Century
"This volume places the issues facing the world regarding Black people and their education in a robust political, economic, social, historical, and cultural context so that all readers can begin to see the scope of the project and why current legislative and local state reforms cannot truly address the problems. However, this is not a volume without hope. It moves beyond problem identification and toward solutions."
- International Handbook On Globalisation, Education and Policy Research: Global Pedagogies and Policies
This handbook views education policy research and globalisation as “dynamic and multi-faceted processes” through a multiple-perspective approach. Coming from diverse backgrounds, the authors “provide a worldview of significant developments in education and policy research.”
- In the Classroom: Empowering Girls
This handbook begins by answering the following pertinent question: Why focus on girls’ education? Continued discussion includes “A Holistic Approach to Girls’ Education” and “Creating a Girl-Friendly Learning Environment”.