Last Updated: Oct 2, 2012
Faculty members sometimes need information about the impact of their scholarly publications for the promotion and tenure process. The impact of a faculty member's research is often measured by:
- the number of times a published paper has been cited
- the ranking of the journal in which a paper is published
- the acceptance rate of submitted articles to a journal
The library has access to several resources that will help faculty track cited references in addition to locating journal rankings and acceptance rates. It is important to realize that not all journals are included in citation databases.
Citation searching is more broadly used to identify the impact of certain research.
Developed by Pennsylvania State University. CiteSeer uses a focused web crawler to obtain citation data. Its scope is limited to computer and information science.
- Google Scholar
includes books and journals from the vast network of the Internet. Does not limit to high impact or scholarly journals. Has some advanced search features (date and publication). Researchers have noted that flawed metadata produce inflated citation counts and duplications. Years of coverage and ranking formulas are unknown.
The citation metric is hyperlinked and generates a list of all publications that have cited the article.
- Publish or Perish
a free software program that analyzes data from Google Scholar. Publish or Perish has the same advantages and disadvantages as Google Scholar, with the added feature of deeper analysis.
- Web of Science
the recognized standard for citation searching. Over 12,000 high impact journals are included (10% of these are Elsevier publications) in 250 disciplines. Web of Science includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and Biosis. The power of the database is its archive for citation searching (back to 1975). See next tab for more information about how to use this database.
Many of the databases the library subscribes to provide citation searching capabilities. These are evolving so not all databases are offering citation searching.
- Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS)
A limited number of the databases in Ebsco, searchable individually or as a group, provide citation searching. One of the search tabs in many of the Ebsco databases is Cited References.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Not all CSA databases have cited reference search capability but for those that offer it, it is available from a pull down menu of search types. In some databases, cited references are listed under retrieved records.
- JSTOR (Collections I to X and Life Sciences)
JSTOR offers a citation locator tab. JSTOR has great coverage of older journals but current articles are often not available.
- PsycNET (Americal Psychological Association)
Provides comprehensive coverage of psychology journals. The search screen has a cited reference tab.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Mainly limited to Elsevier journals, there is a References search type that provides the number of cited references for articles.
- SciFinder Scholar
Cited and citing references are located in the "Get Related Information" box.
- Wiley Interscience Journal Search (Wiley)
From the advanced search screen for journals, References is one of the pull down selections of search types.
For the nursing journals subscribed to through OVID there is a citation feature. After searching the author, click on "Find Citing Articles" link in the box on the right.
- MathSciNet (AMS)
In MathSciNet, click on citations tab and get citation totals by author. MathSciNet covers books and journals.