Skip to main content

Graduate Student Library Guide

How to Find a Scholarly Article

Basic steps to finding a scholarly article

Locate a database (see the section of this guide called Education and other related databases)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or to link to full text articles available in other databases

 

Databases

Databases identify journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. There are three ways to find databases on the library homepage:

OneSearch - provides a comprehensive search of many databases and other resources. It is a great place to begin your research, but remember there are many specialized databases that provide even more depth in particular topics.

Research Guides - links to over 100 subject guides in areas taught at UWF. Provides access to relevant databases and other research sources in these subject areas.

Databases by Subject - lists subjects and representative databases that are relevant to those subjects.

A-Z Database List - lists over 300 databases alphabetically by title and by subject

Articles not at UWF

If you need an article that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan at no cost.

Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account, and you will notified when they are received.  Most articles are received in about 24 hours, but it can take up to 5 days. 

For more information, watch this brief Interlibrary Loan video

Google Scholar

Searching Google Scholar allows you to limit your search to scholarly literature: articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, etc.

Set Google Scholar to link to UWF Libraries resources:

  • Click Settings in Google Scholar
  • Click Library Links
  • Type University of West Florida into the box and search
  • Check the UWF boxes
  • Click the blue SAVE button to save these settings

Remember, you need to be logged in through Remote Access to access these resources from off-campus.

Watch this brief video for help using Google Scholar: