Skip to main content

Aerospace Medicine (NAMI-RAM)

Explanation

bibliography is a list of citations to books, journal articles, and other works.

An annotated bibliographyis a list of citations to books, journal articles, and other works accompanied by descriptive and/or critical paragraph length summaries.

Creating Bibliographies

Bibliographies are usually created using a certain style or format. Typical formats are Turabian, MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style. For more information about citation source, seehttp://libguides.uwf.edu/citingsources.

A useful citation manager and generator of bibliographies, RefWorks, is available as a database from the library's homepage, from the online catalog, and from a variety of databases. For more information, see the tutorial, http://libguides.uwf.edu/refworks%20

Bibliography

Accardi, M. T., Cordova, M., & Leeder, K. (2010). Reviewing the library learning commons: History, models, and perspectives. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 17(2), 310-329. doi:10.1080/10691316.2010.481595 Antell, K., & Engel, D. (2006).
 
Conduciveness to scholarship: The essence of academic library as place. College & Research Libraries, 67(6), 536-560.
 
Applegate, R. (2009). The library is for studying: Student preferences for study space. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 35(4), 341-346.
 
Battles, J. J., & Combs, J. D. (2008). Building a web-based laboratory so users can experiment with new services. Computers in Libraries, 28(1), 12-14, 44-6.
 
Designing for uncertainty: Three approaches. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 33(2), 165-179.

Annotated Bibliography

The following abstract is written in APA style:

Mallett, C., & Hanrahan, S. (2004). Elite athletes: why does the 'fire' burn so brightly? Psychology of Sport and Exercise, 5, 183-200.

Mallett and Hanrahan attempted to use Self Determination Theory (STD), which identifies the social and contextual conditions that create a motivational climate, to discover what motivates elite athletes to perform at such a high level. Athletes usually experience either intrinsic or extrinsic motivational factors to inspire them to demonstrate their competence at an elite level. The authors conducted qualitative interviews with 11 track and field athletes (who had received medals in the Olympics and Commonwealth Games) to gather data on motivational forces. Data from these interviews indicated that all of the elite athletes were mainly intrinsically motivated. They were highly driven by personal goals; had strong self belief; and, their sport was central to their lives. From the findings of this study, Mallett and Hanrahan concluded that when elite athletes accomplished their goals, it enhanced their perception of their competence, which positively influenced self determined motivation. Although the study supported earlier research in the area, the authors acknowledged that further studies on motivational influences are necessary to provide more substantial documentation. Written by Caroline Thompson, Librarian, UWF Libraries.

The following abstract is written in MLA style:

Davis, Lloyd S., and Martin Renner. Penguins. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2003.

This book is concerned with the fascinating family of penguins. Davis (Univ. of Otago, New Zealand) and Renner (independent scholar) deal with the historical approach to penguins and their relationship to other birds and also to each other. The authors consider the different species of penguins and how they forage and live in a harsh world. Then they deal with mate selection and courtship, breeding places, parental care, and egg and chick mortality. Finally they discuss molt and migration and the major problem of conservation in a changing world. Throughout this work there are figures, tables, and some nice color plates. The book includes a substantial list of references. Recommended. General readers; lower-level undergraduates and above. Written for CHOICE by C. J. Pollard, emeritus, Los Angeles Unified School District , Sept. 2004.

The following abstract is written in the Turabian style:

Johnston, Erle E., Jr. Mississippi’s Defiant Years, 1953-1973: An Interpretive Documentary With Personal Experiences. Forest, MS: Lake Harbor Publishers: 1990.  

Mississippi’s Defiant Years, written for a general audience, is Erle Johnston’s personaland highly subjective account of the state’s struggle to retain the traditionof segregation.  Johnston, who served asthe Director of the Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission in the 1960s, madethe claim in the early 1990s that he turned the Commission into atrouble-shooting liaison between the white power structure and those involvedin civil rights activities.  While there are numerous sources thatcontradict his claim (see Paul Hendrickson’s “Unsealing Mississippi’s Past,” The Washington Post Magazine 9 [May1990]: 8-25), this book serves as a significant source for studying the changein Johnston’sthoughts and attitudes about his role in the defiant years.  Unlike the multitude of sources written froma pro-movement perspective, this work provides an interesting account from theopposing viewpoint - that of white resistance.