Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources

English Composition, Writing, & Literature

On this page you will find several open English, Literature, and Writing textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.  

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive.  The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative, and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here. 

Works of Literature & Other Texts in the Public Domain

Examples of Writing Textbooks & Courseware

Writing Commons

Writing Commons is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.  Writing Commons has been adopted by Georgia Institute of Technology, University of South Florida-Tampa,  Ohio State University, and Duke University. 

Editor:

Joe Moxley, Ph.D. , University of South Florida

Most pages are published under a CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 license, but a few are published under a CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 license.

      

 

Research Writing in a Persuasive Mode  -Utah State University

Critical reading, and persuasive research writing techniques are addressed in this complete list of courseware. This material intended to span a 16 week course includes online readings and assignment directives. Critical reading, and persuasive research writing techniques are addressed by this material through a multiple draft writing process. 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License.

English Composition I  -Saylor

This course promotes clear and effective communication skills through use of the Pre-Write, Write, and Revise method. The remaining units will focus on the minutiae of good writing practices, from style to citation methodology.  -Saylor

Authors:

Carolyn Tedholm

Carolyn Savoldy

Content on Saylor.org is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

Open Textbook Collections

Find more English Composition textbooks in these collections

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

College Open Textbooks

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.  -College Open Textbooks

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

Supplemental Materials

 

Writing Spaces

Writing Spaces collects peer-reviewed essays and composes them into textbook chapters that are intended to not only be instructional in nature, but to also be excellent examples of college-level writing.  Some of the included essays provide students with sound writing advice and strategies; others can be used to stimulate classroom discussion.

 About:

About Writing Spaces

All Writing Spaces essays are published under a Creative Commons License; however, licenses vary from essay to essay. 

Online Writing Lab  -Purdue

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University maintains a general purpose writing guide.  Here you can find grammar guidance,  research and citation references, and topic specific writing examples.

The content found at the Purdue Online Writing Lab is free to reference; however, it is under copyright.  See their terms of use.

 

English in The World Today  -The Open University

This unit introduces you to the role that English plays in the world today, and examines the social, political and cultural factors that have influenced its development. It traces the history of the language from its arrival in Britain in the fifth century AD through to the present day and its status as a language with a truly global reach. It looks at how and why English came to occupy this position, and at what the consequences of its global spread are for the way it’s used and perceived around the world. -The Open University

Author:

Philip Seargeant, The Open University

This unit is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.


 

Film

Feature Films  -Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is a repository whose purpose is to provide permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital form to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.  Highlighted here is the Internet Archive's film collection.  Films in this collection are in the public domain either because the copyright holder wishes to share them or their copyright has expired.

Many movies and collections are licensed with Creative Commons Licenses or are in the public domain, but license terms vary from film to film.

      

License

All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.

Creative Commons License