Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources

Business

On this page you will find several open Business textbooks along with supplemental material and a few lecture videos.  

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive.  The nature of open educational resources is very collaborative and it is in that spirit that we encourage any comments about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not already listed here. 

Textbooks

Business Fundamentals -Global Text Project

The Business Fundamentals text is designed to introduce students, particularly those in developing economies, to the essential concepts of business and other organizations. It does this by focusing on small, entrepreneurial start-ups, and expanding the discussion in each chapter to include issues that are faced in larger organizations when it is appropriate to do so. Traditional business models are discussed as well as eBusiness models, with appropriate links to the IS Global Text and other relevant websites. All major functional areas of modern organizations are covered.

Author:

Don McCubbrey, Business, University of Denver

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Create or Perish: The Case for Inventions and Patents  -Robert H. Rines

This textbook is the primary book used in the MIT course Inventions and Patents.  It explores the history of private and public rights in scientific discoveries and applied engineering, leading to the development of worldwide patent systems. The classes of invention protectable under the patent laws of the U.S., including the procedures in protecting inventions in the Patent Office and the courts will be examined. Additionally, several case studies are outlined in the text.  -Robert H. Rines

Author:

Dr. Robert H. Rines

 Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use.

 

  

 

Value Networks and the Nature of Collaboration

Value Networks and the True Nature of Collaboration meets the challenge of social networks and collaboration head on with a systemic, human-network approach to managing business operations and ecosystems.  Value network modeling and analytics provide better support for collaborative, emergent work and complex activities.  With examples from everyday work teams through complex large-scale networks, this book simply and coherently lays out the new basics of collaborative work design and value creating networks.  It explains the underlying concepts and shows how to map, analyze, and leverage value networks in a way that supports high social values and ethical practices.  -Value Networks

About the Authors:

Verna Allee, M.A., World Business Academy Fellow

Oliver Schwabe, Eurofocus International President

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives

 

Industrial Organization -Nicolas Boccard

Our aim in this book is best understood by looking at the historical development of the field.  According to the standard definition, economic science studies the  allocation of scarce resources among alternative uses to achieve desired objectives; Industrial Organization, in turn, focuses on the firms that are involved in this process taking especially into account the fact that  competition is "among the few". -Nicolas Boccard

Authors:

Dr. Niccolas Boccard, Economics, University of Girona

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.

Open Textbook Collections

Find more Business textbooks in these collections

 

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

College Open Textbooks

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.  -College Open Textbooks

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

License

All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. All linked-to content adheres to its respective license.

Creative Commons License