Skip to main content

The Mistory Project: Research

This research guide is designed to assist students with The Mistory Project.

West Florida History Center

Always remember to check with the University Archives and West Florida History Center, especially for the many collections that we do not have online yet.   

Some of the collections include the Pensacola Police Department blotters (rap sheets) from the 1912-1914 period; collections where materials have been gathered about crimes (Lonely Hearts Murders), the funeral home records that we have which sometimes include "extra" materials relating to a victim, and similar items.

Bibliography of West Florida

In 1981, the University of West Florida Libraries published the Bibliography of West Florida (4 vols.).  Edited by the first Director of the Library James. A. Servies,  this set is an annotated bibliography of published works that deal with any aspect of West Florida history.   The staff of the John C. Pace Library spent over a decade compiling references to books, government documents, journal articles, theses and dissertation, and other printed sources. 

Volumes 1-2 cover materials printed between 1535 and 1971, with Volume 3 as the index to Volumes 1-2.  Volume 4 covers materials printed between 1971 and 1981 (as well as new discoveries for the 1535-1971 period) and includes an index.    

These published volumes are available for use in the University Archives and West Florida History Center as well as the Reference Department of the John C. Pace Library.   They are not online at the present time.

Southern Reporter

The official printed versions of Florida Opinions are also available in the Southern Reporter, 1887-1941. 2d Series, 1941-2003  (UWF Library Law Collection KF 135 S82). 

You can access the Southern Reporter through the option for "Cases" -> "Cases By State: Florida" -> "State: All Florida State Cases" and then choose either Florida Supreme Court OR Florida District Court of Appeals within the Westlaw NEXT database. 

Newspapers

Databases

State Judicial Law

Judicial power in Florida is vested in a Supreme Court, district courts of appeal, circuit courts and county courts. Decisions from these courts are published chronologically and later published in a subject arrangement. 

Florida Cases (a subset of Southern Reporter). volumes 1-current (1941-current)(UWF Library Law Collection KF 134 F582)
The official printed versions of Florida Opinions are also available in the Southern Reporter, 1887-1941. 2d Series, 1941-2003  (UWF Library Law Collection KF 135 S82). Sample citation: 190 So. 2d 253.  An extremely important finding aid to Florida case law is West's Florida Digest (UWF Library Law Collection KFF 47.1 F552) which indexes the cases by name and also provides brief summaries of cases.
Online Versions: 
Florida State Courts
  http://www.flcourts.org

Other Resources:

Florida Legal Resources http://www.law.ufl.edu/lic/links/florida/ 

Florida Bar Journal.  http://www.floridabar.org

Provides an overview of the court system in Florida, a directory of lawyers, and employment opportunities.

Examples of Historical Local Crimes

Websites

Periodicals

Florida Historical Quarterly 

Crime and Justice

Crime and Delinquency

Books