Skip to main content

Maritime Studies: Books

Books in the Catalog

Books not at UWF - UBorrow

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges.  This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

When searching in UWF library catalog, click on the blue    icon in the top right corner.  Alternatively, you can search Mango (the union catalog) directly.  To request books, click on the UBorrow icon under the item, enter your *full, 13-digit* Nautilus card number and password, and select the pick-up location.  You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk.

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal.  UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals - through Renew My Books or the Renewals/Library Account link in the library catalog. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans

Books not at UWF - ILL

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat, a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

Background Information

A good resource for background information about a topic is CREDO.  Think of it as a "scholarly Wikipedia."

Background Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedia of Marine Sciences. 1998. (Ref. GC 9 E56 1998)

Encyclopedia of Nautical Knowledge. (Ref. V 23 M25).

Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology. 1998. (Ref. CC 77 U5 E53 1998)

Facts on File Dictionary of Nautical Terms. 1994. (Ref. V 23 L467 1994)

Falconer's Marine Dictionary. 1780. Reprint 1970. (Ref. V 23 F18 1970)

Glossary of Physical Oceanography and Related Disciplines http://stommel.tamu.edu/~baum/paleo /ocean/ocean.html

Mariner's Dictionary (Ref. V 23 B75 1972)

Naval Terms Dictionary (Ref. V 23 N6 1978) 

Ocean and Marine Dictionary (Ref. GC 9 T86)

Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History. 2007 (Ref. VK 15 O84 2007)

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & DIRECTORIES

An Introductory Bibliography of Maritime References for the New World and the Spanish Empire Therein, 1491-1821. 1986. (Ref. Z 6201 B226)

Catalog of Marine Prints and Paintings. 3 vols. 1964. (Special Collections NE 957 M35)

Coastal and Maritime Archaeology: A Bibliography. 1991. (CC 77 U5 K45 1991)

An Indexed Bibliography of Underwater Archaeology and Related Topics. 1996. (CC 77 U5 I43 1996)

International Register of Historic Ships. 1993. (Ref. VM 15 B77 1993)

World War II at Sea: A Bibliography of Sources in English. 3 vols. 1976. (Ref. Z 6207 W8 S57)

Yucatan: An Annotated Bibliography of Documents and Manuscripts on the Archaeology and History of Yucatan in Archives and Libraries of Mexico, North America and Europe. 1943. Reprinted 1980. (Ref. Z 1427 Y8 1980)

HANDBOOKS

Practical Handbook of Marine Science. 2001. (Ref. GC 11.2 P73 2001)

CRC Handbook of Marine Science, 3 vol. (Ref. GC 24 C17).

Shipwrecks of Florida. 1998. (Ref. G 525 S556 1998)