Skip to main content

EUH 1000: Western Perspectives I - Champagne: Books

Call Numbers

Most books on ancient and medieval history are found in the book stacks under D on the 4th floor.

Books in the Catalog

Books not at UWF - ILL

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat, a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.


REFERENCE GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Guide to the Sources of Medieval History. 1978. (Ref. D 117 .C2213)
Guide to The Study of Medieval History. 1980. (Ref. Z6203 P25)
International Medieval Bibliography. 1968- (Ref. Z 6203 I63)
Introduction to Ancient History. 1970. (Z 6202 B413)
Literature of Medieval History: 1930-1975. 5 Vols. (Ref. Z 6203 P25 1980 Suppl.)
Medieval Studies: An Introduction. 1976. (Ref. D 116 M4 1976)
Oriental Institute: Recommended Readings on the Ancient Near East.


DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

An Archaic Dictionary: Biographical, Historical, and Mythological... (Ref. DS61 C65 1969)
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology. 1980. (Ref. CC 165 C3)
Civilization of The Ancient Mediterranean: Greece And Rome. 3 Vols. 1988. (Ref. DE 59 C55) & Emerald Coast
A Dictionary of Ancient History. Ref. DE5 .D53 1994)
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 Vols. 1982-1989. (Ref. D 114 D5)
The Middle Ages: A Concise Encyclopedia. 1989. (Ref D 114 M54 1989)
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed.).
On-Line Reference Book for Medieval Studies (ORB).
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 1996. (Ref. DE 5 O9 1996)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology. 2010. (Ref U37 O94 2010)


STANDARD HISTORIES

The Cambridge Ancient History. 17 Vols. 1965+ Supplements. (Ref. D 57 C25)
The New Cambridge Medieval History. 8 Vols. 1995. (Ref. D 117 N48 1995)

Online Reference Sources

There are over 600 reference titles available in CREDO, our online reference database. Many are specifically related to Ancient and Medieval history, inlcuding: