Skip to main content

UWF Emerald Coast Library: Hospitality

Emerald Coast Library Resources in Hospitality

UWF Emerald Coast Library is working to build its collection of print books (now close to 100) supporting research and study in the Hospitality industry.  Additionally, over 1,200 eBooks and more than 100 online journals pertaining to Hotel Management, Restaurants and Leisure & Recreation are available to UWF students.  And our databases provide over 2 million full-text articles from scholarly and trade publications in Hospitality.

Print Books

UWF Emerald Coast Library is working to build its collection of print books (now close to 100) supporting research and study in the Hospitality industry. Here are several books that have recently been added to our collection:

Supervision in the Hospitality Industry (8th edition)
Author: Jack E. Miller
Call Number: TX 911.3 .P4 M55 2017

This book focuses on the different roles of employees from beginning leaders, newly promoted supervisor, or anyone planning a career in the hospitality field. It considers the viewpoints of all levels of associates to create an informed picture of management and supervision in the hospitality industry.

A History of Modern Tourism
Author: Eric G.E. Zuelow
Call Number: G 156 .Z84 2016

Zuelow tracks the origins and evolution of tourism from earliest times to the present. From a new understanding of aesthetics to scientific change, from the invention of steam power to the creation of aircraft, from an elite form of education to family car trips to see national 'shrines,' this book offers a sweeping and engaging overview of a fascinating story not yet widely known.

Hotel Pricing in a Social World
Author: Kelly A. McGuire
Call Number: TX 911.3 .R3 M35 2016

An insightful resource that provides guidance on improving organizational decision making to keep your hotel relevant, from a pricing standpoint, in the often chaotic hotel landscape. This groundbreaking book clearly showcases the current environment of the hotel industry, and describes new and emerging trends that can impact your revenue management tactics.

Browse more print books pertaining to Hospitality in the UWF Emerald Coast Library collection.

eBooks

NOTE: Links in this section may not work in Internet Explorer.

UWF Emerald Coast students have access to over 1,200 eBooks on the Hospitality industry.  Here are some recent eBooks in our online collection:

Tasting Tourism: Travelling for Food and Drink
Author: Priscilla Boniface
Date: 2017

An insightful resource that provides guidance on improving organizational decision making to keep your hotel relevant, from a pricing standpoint, in the often chaotic hotel landscape. This groundbreaking book clearly showcases the current environment of the hotel industry, and describes new and emerging trends that can impact your revenue management tactics.
 

The Economics of Recreation, Leisure and Tourism (5th edition)
Author: John Tribe
Date: 2016

Richly illustrated with diagrams, this book applies economic theory to a range of tourism industry issues at the consumer, business, national and international level by using topical examples to give the theory real-world context.
 

A Hotel Manager’s Handbook
Author: Vincent P. Magnini
Date: 2016

This book presents an array of highly effective guest satisfaction techniques from which even the most veteran hoteliers can learn and benefit. .
 

Access all of our eBooks pertaining to Hospitality!

See our Guide to Downloading eBooks for assistance.

Textbooks

Our Textbook Course Reserves program provides the required textbooks for most of the classes offered on the UWF Emerald Coast campus as well as the online classes that support our degree programs. Textbooks may be borrowed for two hours. Here are some of the Hospitality textbooks we have on reserve for the Fall 2017 semester:

The Tourism System (7th edition)
Class: HFT 3053 - Travel & Tourism Management
Call Number: TXT 0303

This book focuses on the marketing aspects of tourism, based on asking certain specific questions - why people travel, where and how tourism works, and what can be done to increase tourism.

World of Resorts : From Development to Management
Class: HFT 4277 - Resort Operations & Management
Call Number: TXT 0936

This book helps developers and managers apply successful resort concepts to any type of property. Highlights include: Planning and Development, Facilities, Recreation, Food and Beverage, Housekeeping, and Laundry Operations, Property Management, Energy Conservation, Accounting, and Purchasing, Security and the Management of Risk, Marketing Resorts and more.

UWF Library Resources

OneSearch  (Articles, Books, etc.) - may not work in Internet Explorer

 
  Full Text       Peer Reviewed

UWF Library Catalog  (Books, DVDs, etc.)

 
  Limit to FWB Campus Library Holdings

UWF Course Reserves  (Textbooks, Class Readings, etc.)

  

Online Databases (Articles, Statistics, Information)

Databases A-Z List
Databases by Subject

Online Journals - may not work in Internet Explorer

UWF Libraries Subject Research Guides

Tutorials

Renew Your Loans

Request Materials from UWF Pensacola Library

Request Materials from Other Libraries (ILL)