Skip to main content

UWF Emerald Coast Library: Collections

Our Collections ...

UWF Emerald Coast Library strives to build and maintain a collection that supports the UWF classes and programs at the Fort Walton Beach campus.  Northwest Florida State College also contributes materials to our collection to support their classes at the FWB Campus. 

We currently have over 25,000 print books available for checkout in our General Collection.  Students may also consult over 1,400 titles in our Reference collection on the FWB Campus. 

Through UWF Library subscriptions, students and faculty also have access to thousands of online journals and over 350,000 ebooks, as well as millions of full-text articles through the library databases.

Hospitality

UWF Emerald Coast Library is working to build its collection of print books (now close to 100) supporting research and study in the Hospitality industry.  Additionally, over 1,200 eBooks and more than 100 online journals pertaining to Hotel Management, Restaurants and Leisure & Recreation are available to UWF students.  And our databases provide over 2 million full-text articles from scholarly and trade publications in Hospitality.

New Books

Supervision in the Hospitality Industry (8th edition)
Author: Jack E. Miller
Call Number: TX 911.3 .P4 M55 2017

This book focuses on the different roles of employees from beginning leaders, newly promoted supervisor, or anyone planning a career in the hospitality field. It considers the viewpoints of all levels of associates to create an informed picture of management and supervision in the hospitality industry.

A History of Modern Tourism
Author: Eric G.E. Zuelow
Call Number: G 156 .Z84 2016

Zuelow tracks the origins and evolution of tourism from earliest times to the present. From a new understanding of aesthetics to scientific change, from the invention of steam power to the creation of aircraft, from an elite form of education to family car trips to see national 'shrines,' this book offers a sweeping and engaging overview of a fascinating story not yet widely known.

Hotel Pricing in a Social World
Author: Kelly A. McGuire
Call Number: TX 911.3 .R3 M35 2016

An insightful resource that provides guidance on improving organizational decision making to keep your hotel relevant, from a pricing standpoint, in the often chaotic hotel landscape. This groundbreaking book clearly showcases the current environment of the hotel industry, and describes new and emerging trends that can impact your revenue management tactics.

Recent eBooks

Tasting Tourism: Travelling for Food and Drink
Author: Priscilla Boniface
Date: 2017

An insightful resource that provides guidance on improving organizational decision making to keep your hotel relevant, from a pricing standpoint, in the often chaotic hotel landscape. This groundbreaking book clearly showcases the current environment of the hotel industry, and describes new and emerging trends that can impact your revenue management tactics.

The Economics of Recreation, Leisure and Tourism (5th edition)
Author: John Tribe
Date: 2016

Richly illustrated with diagrams, this book applies economic theory to a range of tourism industry issues at the consumer, business, national and international level by using topical examples to give the theory real-world context.

A Hotel Manager’s Handbook
Author: Vincent P. Magnini
Date: 2016

This book presents an array of highly effective guest satisfaction techniques from which even the most veteran hoteliers can learn and benefit. .

Textbooks

World of Resorts : From Development to Management
Class: HFT 4277 - Resort Operations & Management
Call Number: TXT 0936

This book helps developers and managers apply successful resort concepts to any type of property. Highlights include: Planning and Development, Facilities, Recreation, Food and Beverage, Housekeeping, and Laundry Operations, Property Management, Energy Conservation, Accounting, and Purchasing, Security and the Management of Risk, Marketing Resorts and more!

zz

   

   

 

Criminal Justice

UWF Emerald Coast Library has nearly 800 print books supporting research and study in Criminal Justice.  Furthermore, over 7,000 eBooks and more than 80 online journals in Criminal Justice are available to UWF students.  Our databases provide access to over 300,000 full-text articles from academic journals in the discipline.

New Books

Cop Watch: Spectators, Social Media, and Police Reform
Author: Hans Toch
Call Number: HV 8139 .T63 2012

Spanning the 1960s riots to 2011 accusations of police brutality in Seattle, renowned social psychologist Hans Toch provides an unflinching examination of the power of the crowd and society to shape police practice in a volatile world.

In Doubt: The Psychology of the Criminal Justice Process
Author: Dan Simon
Call Number: HV 7419 .S57 2012

Criminal justice is unavoidably human. Dan Simon, a professor of Law and Psychology at USC, shows how flawed investigations produce erroneous evidence and why well-meaning juries send innocent people to prison and set the guilty free.

Recent eBooks

The Punishment Imperative : The Rise and Failure of Mass Incarceration in America
Authors: Todd Clear & Natasha Frost

Clear and Frost chart the unprecedented growth of the US penal system over the past 40 years and offer several pragmatic policy solutions to changing the criminal justice system’s approach to punishment.

Economics and Youth Violence : Crime, Disadvantage, and Community
Editors: Richard Rosenfeld et al.

Chapters cover such issues as the effect of inflation on youth violence; new quantitative analysis of the connection between race, economic opportunity, and violence; and the cyclical nature of criminal backgrounds and economic disadvantage among families.

Library Apps