Skip to main content

U.S. Documents: Directories

Directories

Legislative Branch

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989.
(U.S. Doc. Y 1.1/3:100-34) http://bioguide.congress.gov/biosearch/
biosearch.asp


Congressional Directory. 1985. Annual. (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. Y 4 P93/1:1/) & Emerald Coast Library and 1997/1998 http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory
/index.html


Congressional Pictorial Directory
. 1993- Biennial (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. Y 4 P 93/1:1) & Emerald Coast Library and 1997 http://www.access.gpo.gov/congress/
108_pictorial /index.html


Congressional Yellow Book
. Quarterly. Current Issue only. (Ref. Desk JK 1012 C6532) Directory of offices and staff

U.S. Legislative Branch - Members of Congress

http://thomas.loc.gov/home/legbranch/
legbranch.html



Judicial Branch

Judges of the United States Courts
http://www.fjc.gov/history/home.nsf/page/judges.html
Contains the service record and biographical information for all judges who have served on the U.S. District Courts, U.S. Circuit Courts, U.S. Courts of Appeals, and the Supreme Court since 1789

Supreme Court Collection
http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/justices/fullcourt.html
A source of biographical sketches and writings for the current judges. Historic Supreme Court decisions, by Justice, with some biographical information can be found at  http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/cases/judges.htm


Embassies and Diplomatic Officials:

Diplomatic List. 2000. (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. S 1.8:) Also 2002 http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/dpl/2002/c7271.htm

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States. 2002. (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. S 1.69/2:) Also 2001  http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco

Web Sites of U.S. Embassies and other Diplomatic Missions
http://usembassy.state.gov


Federal Agencies, Departments and Officials

Federal Government Agency Directory
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/gov/index.html

Federal Yellow Book. Current issue. (Ref. Desk JK 6. F45)
The directory of executive agencies

Federal Citizen Information Center http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov
Directories of government officials, personnel and services

National Political Index http://www.politicalindex.com/index.htm
Provides information about searching for government officials

Presidential Sites - Specific Presidents
http://www.ibiblio.org/lia/president/pressites/PresidentS-list2.html
A collection of web sites in order by president

Uncle Sam - Who's Who in the Federal Government
http://www.memphis.edu/govpub/whos.php

 

.edu/govpub/whos.php