Skip to main content

Small Business Development: Finding Demographics

Demographics

Florida County Perspective - Escambia. 2011. (Ref. HA 317 E87 F56)
Statistical profiles of Florida counties are provided in this series which includes a locator map, a ranked data section and historical data. Separate volumes for Okaloosa (Ref. HA 317 O32 F56), Santa Rosa (Ref. HA 317 S26 F56), and Walton (Ref. HA 317 W34 F56) counties are also provided. http://www.bebr.ufl.edu/.

Florida Vital Statistics. Annual. 1948+ (Fla. Doc. HRS.I 3:V 47 & Online & FWB)
Provides detailed tabular statistics on the state, arranged by county.

Detailed demographics at the census tract level for all counties in the United States including population, income and housing.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
 Consumer prices, employment, salaries and wages, and trade and export information.

Associations

Better Business Bureau  http://www.bbb.org
Includes some full text guides, pamphlets and news reports.  Other sections in this site are a database of local companies and complaint forms.

Federation of International Trade Associations  http://www.fita.org
Includes a few tools that point to trade lead sources and that announce trade seminars and shows

Florida's Chambers of Commerce  http://www.floridaguide.com/chambers
Provides links to all city and/or county chambers in Florida

National Association of the Self-Employed  http://www.nase.org
Known for its lobby efforts in Washington, this agency also provides a good directory of other Internet sources, as well as TaxTalk a library of information about tax issues.

National Federation of Independent Business  http://www.nfib.com
This web site keeps up with important issues and legislation at the state and federal levels.

Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE)  http://www.score.org
Provides contacts with retired executive volunteers who offer counseling to beginning entrepreneurs. The web page also provides links to valuable information resources.

Small Business Survival Committee  http://www.sbsc.org
This committee is actually a lobbying group that represents small business owners.

Internet Sites

American Express Small Business Exchange  http://www.americanexpress.com/homepage/
personal.shtml


Business Resource Center 
http://www.morebusiness.com


CCH Business Owner's Toolkit 
http://www.toolkit.cch.com

Encyclopedia of Small Business. 1998. (Ref. HD 62.7 H553) & Emerald Coast Library

ENTERWeb: Enterprise Development  http://www.enterweb.org

EZ Research - Small Business  http://www.ezresearch.com/smallbiz
/index.html


Nova Plaza Business Library  http://novaplaza.com/library.shtml

Online Women's Business Center  http://www.onlinewbc.org

Small Business Administration  http://www.sba.gov

Small Business Development Center  http://www.sbdc.uwf.edu/main.htm

Small Business Resource Center 
http://www.sbrc.net


Small Office Solution 
http://www.smallofficesolutions.com


Bizresource.Com 
http://www.bizresource.com


Edward Lowe Perspectives  http://peerspectives.org

Entrepreneur.com  http://www.entrepreneur.com

Idea Cafe  http://www.ideacafe.com

Inc.com  http://www.inc.com

Online Business Advisor  http://www.onlinebusadv.com

Small Business Information Library  http://www.bizoffice.com

University of West Florida Small Business Development Center  http://www.sbdc.uwf.edu