Skip to main content

Literature Review: Conducting & Writing

This guide will provide research and writing tips to help students complete a literature review assignment.

Find Articles and Books

OneSearch
Search our discovery tool that searches most of our databases and the catalog at the same time.

Finding Articles & Books using a Database for Your Discipline

One Search searches many of our databases at one time; however, you may also need to search discipline-specific databases to find resources for your literature review.

There are three ways to find databases that will be useful to your research:

How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial

Watch the following video tutorial for help with finding scholarly articles:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

Materials beyond UWF: Interlibrary Loan

You may need to broaden the scope of your research to materials not owned by UWF. Watch our tutorial to get started!

Finding articles not owned by UWF within the databases Image of Find It / Full Text Finder
To identify articles on your topic, use any of our databases and click "Find It" or Full-Text Finder to view Full-Text options.  If the full-text is not available in another database or if we do not own the print journal upstairs, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan (this will be an option in the "Find It" window).

Theses & Dissertations

It may be helpful to look at theses and dissertations both to view samples of other literature reviews and to see the current, unpublished research in the field.

Google Scholar

Searching Google Scholar may help you find additional items for your lit review.  

From home, be sure to set your Scholar Preferences (in the top right corner) to UWF Libraries. This will link you to resources at UWF.

Remember NEVER pay for an article or resource; you can request it via Interlibrary Loan!

Online Reference Materials

Need credible background information on a topic?

Check out: