Skip to main content

Literature Review: Conducting & Writing: Steps for Conducting a Lit Review

This guide will provide research and writing tips to help students complete a literature review assignment.

Disclaimer!!

Warning!

Conducting a literature review is usually recursive, meaning that somewhere along the way, you'll find yourself repeating steps out-of-order.

That is actually a good sign.  

Reviewing the research should lead to more research questions and those questions will likely lead you to either revise your initial research question or go back and find more literature related to a more specific aspect of your research question.

Research Help

Want to find the best resources for your literature review?

Look for your discipline in our Research Guides!

1. Choose a topic. Define your research question.

Your literature review should be guided by a central research question.  Remember, it is not a collection of loosely related studies in a field but instead represents background and research developments related to a specific research question, interpreted and analyzed by you in a synthesized way.

Tips:

  • Make sure your research question is not too broad or too narrow.  Is it manageable?
  • Begin writing down terms that are related to your question. These will be useful for searches later.
  • If you have the opportunity, discuss your topic with your professor.

2. Decide on the scope of your review.

How many studies do you need to look at? How comprehensive should it be? How many years should it cover? 

Tip: This may depend on your assignment.  How many sources does the assignment require?

3. Select the databases you will use to conduct your searches.

Make a list of the databases you will search.  Remember to include comprehensive databases such as WorldCat and Dissertations & Theses, if you need to.

Tips:

  • Look at the Library's research guides in your discipline to select discipline-specific databases.  Don't forget to look at books!
  • Make an appointment with or contact your subject librarian to make sure you aren't missing major databases.

4. Conduct your searches and find the literature. Keep track of your searches!

Tips: 

  • Review the abstracts of research studies carefully. This will save you time.
  • Write down the searches you conduct in each database so that you may duplicate them if you need to later (or avoid dead-end searches that you'd forgotten you'd already tried).
  • Use the bibliographies and references of research studies you find to locate others.
  • Ask your professor or a scholar in the field if you are missing any key works in the field.
  • Use RefWorks to keep track of your research citations. See the RefWorks Tutorial if you need help.

5. Review the literature.

Some questions to help you analyze the research:

  • What was the research question of the study you are reviewing? What were the authors trying to discover?
  • Was the research funded by a source that could influence the findings?
  • What were the research methodologies? Analyze its literature review, the samples and variables used, the results, and the conclusions. Does the research seem to be complete? Could it have been conducted more soundly? What further questions does it raise?
  • If there are conflicting studies, why do you think that is?
  • How are the authors viewed in the field? Has this study been cited?; if so, how has it been analyzed?

Tips: 

  • Again, review the abstracts carefully.  
  • Keep careful notes so that you may track your thought processes during the research process.

Get Help

Ask-a-Librarian
Chat Hours: M-F 8-4
After Hours

Find Your Librarian!

Need extra help? Call, email, or sit down with the librarian who is a subject-specialist in your field:

Dean DeBolt
West Florida History
ddebolt@uwf.edu ; 474-2213

Hillary Fox
Health, Exercise Sciences, Environmental Studies, Nursing
hfox@uwf.edu; 474-2358

Melissa Gonzalez
History, Anthropology, Archaeology, Political Science, Multicultural & Gender Studies & Music
mgonzalez@uwf.edu ; 474-2821

Shari Johnson
Business, Hospitality
sjohnson3@uwf.edu ; 474-2711

Kellie Sparks
Law, Criminal Justice, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology
dlow@uwf.edu ; 474-2264

Britt McGowan
English & World Languages, Communication Arts, Theater
bmcgowan@uwf.edu ; 474-2048

Caroline Thompson
Art, Sciences
cthompson@uwf.edu ; 474-2412

Paul Williford
Emerald Coast Campus Librarian
williford@uwf.edu ; (850)863-6577

Amanda Ziegler
Professional Studies Librarian
Education, Social Work
aziegler@uwf.edu; 474-2439