The Getty Art Museum Education Web site contains a variety of teaching and learning materials, such as art examples from worldwide collections. A well conceived list of art related lesson plans may be accessed according to grade level (K-12) or by alphabetical listing. There are a variety of subject area art lessons and integrated curriculum units to choose from as well as a Getty Scope and Sequence guide linked to the National Standards for Art Education.
Crayola provides lessons with hands-on learning experiences, linked with core curriculum standards. New lessons are added each week. Find colorful, creative curriculum ideas for preschool age children. Users can search lessons by media, curriculum, grade, timeframe, or theme. In addition, users can download lesson ideas from the new Crayola Dream-Makers teacher's guide, "Weaving What We Are," which provide art activities that engage students' imaginations as they examine their own culture.
This Web site created by the National Endowment for the Humanities connects to high-quality education resources from some of the world's great museums, libraries, cultural institutions, and universities. Subject areas include literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, history, and social studies. All links have been reviewed for content, design, and likely impact in the classroom; included are top humanities sites that relate directly to the compilation of creative plans.
In Education World, educators can find lesson plans relating to art history, foreign languages, language arts, literature, dance and music, visual arts, educational technology, and more. Teachers can also gather ideas through research materials and articles written by education experts.
This link is part of a Web site entitled, "Educational Resources and Lesson Plans" that was primarily developed for education students at the College of Saint Benedict and St. John's University, but can also be very beneficial to teachers. Under the subject of music, users will find a variety of links to lesson plans ranging from AskEric pages to various Web sites developed by teachers all over the world.
The Learning Network has developed lesson plan units that use recent New York Times articles as sources for examining important curricular topics in interesting and exciting ways. These lesson plans are written for grades 6-12 and vary in musical trends, such as current popular music, international music, and operatic music. Interdisciplinary connections, vocabulary lists, and extension activities are included in the lesson plans.
Outta Ray's Head is a collection of lesson plans used in the classroom by Ray Saitz and many contributors. This Web site contains only language arts lesson plans in the subjects of literature, poetry, library, and writing. Users can also explore the links page to find additional resources suggested by Saitz.
Heather Forest, director of non-profit Story Arts of Huntington, New York, developed this Web site to provide information on the importance of storytelling in the classroom. Users can read international folk tales and fables in the story library. Find lesson plans, activities, rubrics, storytelling advice, information on selecting stories for the classroom, suggestions for a listening center, and a bibliography of essential storytelling books for the classroom.
The six-trait analytical model provides assessment and feedback to students and teachers. Educators use the 6+1 Trait Writing Scoring Guide to help students improve their writing skills. The NW Regional Educational Laboratory has compiled lesson plans for grade levels from early elementary to high school. The lessons are organized around the six writing traits: ideas, organization, voice, word choice, sentence fluency, and conventions.
HowToSmile provides over 3,000 science and math activities aimed at K-12 in English and Spanish for most. Lesson plans are complete with cost estimates, downloadable accompanying materials, and links to standards.
Free membership to this resource includes access to lesson plans, worksheets, printable books, theme sheets, and clipart. All of these resources are free and may be downloaded and printed directly from this Web site. The science-based curriculum is written and designed for PreK to third grade. All instructional materials are professionally produced and tested by teachers in the classroom. Each thematic unit includes Language Arts and Math linked objectives.
MyGarbology, a project by NatureBridge and other companies, provides an interactive online game to enhance learning about where our waste should go. In addition, the site provides lesson plans and activites to extend the learning.
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) offers detailed lesson plans, interactive multimedia math lessons and activities, links to selected web resources, video vignettes of teaching, and more for grades PreK-12. This Internet resource is based on NCTM's Principles and Standards for School Mathematics.
Science NetLinks is part of an Internet-based learning initiative called MarcoPolo. Science NetLinks provides a wealth of information for K-12 educators that include lesson plans and a collection of reviewed Internet resources. Lesson plans are based on the Benchmarks of Science Literacy. Users can search lessons according to subjects or grade ranges. Student-ready materials such as e-sheets (online worksheets that enable students to engage directly in Internet activities) are also available.
Dr. Marty Levine, Professor Emeritus of Secondary Education, California State University, Northridge (CSUN) has gathered lesson plans and resources from the Internet which social studies teachers will find very useful. Find topics about Ancient Greece and Women in History, as well as a multitude of other topics. The links offered have useful annotations and connect to related Internet sites.
The National Geographic Society, "the world's largest scientific and educational organization," provides students and educators with a variety of educational materials. Students can experience an "online adventure", look at printable maps of the world, or read interesting facts and reference resources in "homework help". Teachers can access lesson plans by keyword search or by browsing. A listing of other resources is available to help teachers enhance lessons.
National Geographic Xpeditions contains geography lesson plans and activities based on the U.S. National Geography Standard. Places & regions, physical systems, human systems, environment & society, and uses of geography are a few of the standards. Xpeditions also provides users with atlas maps and categorizes lesson plans by grade and standard.