Skip to main content

Political Science: Elections

Print Sources

America Votes. Biennial. 1956-. [Ref. JK 1967 A8]
Contains voting statistics for federal and state level elections

American Presidential Campaigns & Elections. 3 vols. 2003. [Ref. JK 1965 A57 2003]
This valuable, extensive work contains original documents, chronologies, maps, statistics, photos, illustrations and cartoons, a bibliography, glossary, and index. Volume 1 thoroughly covers the American electoral process, while Volumes 2 & 3 discuss each presidential campaign and election from 1788 through 2000.

Atlas of Florida Voting and Public Opinion. 1998. [Ref. G 1316 F9 D44 1998]

History of American Presidential Elections, 1789-2001. 11 vols. 2002. [Ref E 183 H58 2002]
This 5,000-page series contains essays of 10 to 20 pages for each presidential election in the United States. In addition, appendixes for each article offer transcripts of debates between the candidates, news coverage, and details of popular and electoral votes. Volume 11 also contains a bibliography of readings for each election, a concise chronology of U.S. presidents, and a comprehensive index.

Statistical History of the American Electorate. 2001. [Ref JK 1967 R87 2001]
Published by CQ Press, this extensive work provides abundant tables reporting on the history of the American electorate, including data on voting patterns, election laws, party winners and losers, and more. Each of 8 chapters contains numerous, detailed tables, preceded by textual explanations and background information.

Online Sources