Skip to main content

Political Science: Congress

Online Sources

Print Sources

Biographical Directory of the American Congress. 1774-.  [Ref. JK 1010 A54]
This work provides brief biographies of the members of Congress and the Continental Congress. Also lists the executive administrations and members of each Congress by state delegation. See also Members of Congress Since 1789  [Ref. JK 1010 M45 1985].

The Congress Dictionary: The Ways and Meanings of Capitol Hill. 1993. [Ref JK 1067 D5 1993]

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress. 1991. [Ref. JK 1021 C565]
This work provides an overview of the U.S. Congress. For more specific information see the following Congressional Quarterly publications:
CQ Weekly Report (Ref. Desk JK 1 C15) - offers the most current and detailed information on congressional activities
CQ Almanac (Ref. JK 1 C66) - annual work summarizing each congressional session
Congress And The Nation, 1945-1996 (Ref. KF 4935 C6) - provides an analysis of each presidential term

Congressional Yellow Book. Quarterly. [Ref. Desk JK 1012 C6532]
This work provides the address, telephone number, committee assignments, and lists of congressional aides for senators and representatives. 

Facts about the Congress. 1996. [Ref JK 1021 C48 1996]

How Congress Works. 1998. [Ref JK 1021 H69 1998]

Official Congressional Directory. Annual. [Gov Docs Y4 .P93/1]
This work updates the Biographical Directory of The United States Congress....1774-1989 (Gov Docs Y 1.1/3:100-34).