Skip to main content

Public History: Journal Articles

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., JSTOR)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need 

Articles not at UWF

If you need an article that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan at no cost.

Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account, and you will notified when they are received.  Most articles are received in about 24 hours, but it can take up to 5 days. 

For more information, watch this brief Interlibrary Loan video

Google Scholar

Searching Google Scholar allows you to limit your search to scholarly literature: articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, etc.

Set Google Scholar to link to UWF Libraries resources:

  • Click Settings in Google Scholar
  • Click Library Links
  • Type University of West Florida into the box and search
  • Check the UWF boxes
  • Click the blue SAVE button to save these settings

Remember, you need to be logged in through Remote Access to access these resources from off-campus.

Watch this brief video for help using Google Scholar:

Databases

Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. These databases are the most relevant for Public history:

How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help finding scholarly articles:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.