Skip to main content

Biology

Research and resources in biology

Handbooks

Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species. 2 vols. 1998. (Ref. QL 82 B435 1998)
This guide to all the species that the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service lists as threatened or endangered includes descriptive data as well as photographs.

Coastal Plants From Cape Cod to Cape Canaveral. 2000. (Ref. QK 122 S78 2000)
Describes with text and color photography, the vascular plants that grow in the coastal habitats from Massachusetts to northern Florida

Common Coastal Birds of Florida and the Caribbean. 2001. (QL 684 F6 2001)
This handbook includes descriptive data on coastal birds of Florida and the Caribbean along with color photos.

Coral Reef Fishes. 1996. (Ref. QL 621.58 L54 1996)
Describes in text and color plates 1,700 Indo-Pacific coral reef fish species and over 350 western Atlantic species. See also Caribbean Reef Fishes (Ref. QL 621.58 R36 1996).

Corals: A Quick Reference Guide. 1999. (Ref. QL 377 C5 S67 1999)
Presents classification, food and survival information on corals of the world and includes excellent color photographs of each specimen

Field Guide to Coastal Wetland Plants of the Southeastern United States. 1993. (Ref. QK 125 T55 1993)
Describes the flora of the tidal wetlands with black and white illustrations and taxonomic, habitat, and range of distribution information. See also: Encyclopedia of Ferns (Ref. SB 429 J66 1987), Smithsonian Guide to Seaside Plants of the Gulf and Atlantic Coasts (Ref. QK 122 D86 1987), and Tidal Marsh Plants (Ref. QK 125 E35 1990).

Field Guide to Florida Reptiles and Amphibians. 1999. (Ref. QL 653 F6 B37 1999)
Excellent color photographs and black and white distribution maps are included in this guide to the state's reptiles and amphibians. See also: A Guide to Amphibians and Reptiles (Ref. QL 641 T96 1990), Amphibian Species of the World (Ref. QL 645 F76 1985), Turtles of the United States and Canada (Ref. QL 666 C5 E7 1994), and Turtles of the World (Ref. QL 666 C5 E77 1989).

Fishes of Alabama and the Mobile Basin. 1996. (Ref. QL 628 A2 M47 1996)
This handbook of Alabama fishes include freshwater and marine species. Each species is described with its characteristics, size, distribution, habitat and additional remarks. IIncludes color distribution maps

Fishes of the Gulf of Mexico. vol. 1. 1998. (Ref. QL 621.56 M383 1998 v. 1)
Subtitled: "Myxiniformes to Gasterosteiformes," this volume describes 40 of the 44 known orders of fishes that inhabit the Gulf of Mexico (volume 2 will describe the remaining 4 orders). See also Fishes of the Gulf of Mexico - Texas, Louisiana, and Adjacent Waters (Ref. QL 621.56 H63 1998).

Fishes of the World. 1994. (Ref. QL 618 N4 1994)
Presents a systematic treatment of all major fish groups. Includes black and white illustrations and an extensive appended bibliography. See also: Common and Scientific Names of Fishes From the United States and Canada (Ref. QL 618 A48 1991), A Field Guide to Atlantic Coast Fishes of North America (Ref. QL 621.5 R63 1986), National Audubon Society Field Guide to Fishes, North America (Ref. QL 625 G56 2002), and Smiths' Sea Fishes (Ref. QL 635 S6 S42 1986).

Guide to Marine Mammals of the World. 2002. (Ref. QL 713.2 N37 2002)
Illustrations, photographs, maps, tables, and a glossary are used in these detailed descriptions of all 120 species of marine mammals. See also Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises (Ref. QL 737 C4 C28 1995) subtitled: "The Visual Guide to the World's Cetaceans."

Practical Handbook of Marine Science. 2001. (Ref. GC 11.2 P73 2001)
The purpose of this handbook is to serve multidisciplinary research needs in the various fields of marine science. It includes a large number of maps, charts, line drawings, and tables as well as extensive bibliographies.

Soft Corals and Sea Fans. 2001. (Ref. QL 377 C6 F33 2001)
Subtitled: "A Comprehensive Guide to the Tropical Shallow-Water Genera of the Central-West Pacific, the Indian Ocean and the Red Sea." Includes excellent color photography.