Skip to main content

Online Learners Library Guide: Find Articles

Information for students who take classes online

Databases

Databases identify journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. There are three ways to find databases on the library homepage:

OneSearch - provides a comprehensive search of many databases and other resources. It is a great place to begin your research, but remember there are many specialized databases that provide even more depth in particular topics.

Research Guides - links to over 100 subject guides in areas taught at UWF. Provides access to relevant databases and other research sources in these subject areas.

Databases by Subject - lists subjects and representative databases that are relevant to those subjects.

A-Z Database List - lists over 300 databases alphabetically by title and by subject

Articles not at UWF

Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF

Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal

You will be emailed when they articles are available

Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 5 days for articles to arrive

 

Managing Citations

Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.

First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. 

Once records are in RefWorks, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.

Use the Refworks Tutorial to learn more about this useful database.

RefWorks is accessible from the list of online databases on the homepage.

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., Biological Abstracts)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need 

How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial

Watch the following video tutorial for help with finding scholarly articles:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

Accessing Library Resources from Off Campus

In order to access library resources from off campus, you'll need to be sure you are logged in using your Argonet username and password (the same one you use for eLearning and your UWF email). You can double check to see if you are logged in by looking at the Access tab on the Libraries homepage.

This is what it looks like if you are off campus and are not logged in (note the red tab!): 

Displaying Capture.PNGDisplaying Capture.PNG

If you click on the red tab, you will be directed to log in. If you have already authenticated and are able to access the Libraries' resources, the homepage will look like this, with a green access tab: