Skip to main content

Nutrition: Books

A guide to resources relating to nutrition

Books in the Catalog

New Books

Background Sources

Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences. 2004. (Ref. R 118.6  I568 2004)
This guide to basic bibliographic tools in the health sciences includes a chapter on electronic bibliographic databases, and a chapter on audiovisual materials. 

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS 

Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition. 2002. (Ref. TX 349 E475 2002)
A beautifully illustrated volume that contains extensive health and nutrition information. Overviews of nutrients, specific foods, and preparing healthy menus are provided. Also, a glossary of terms and a list of readings are located in the back of the book.

Oxford Book of Health Foods. 2003. (Ref. TX 369 V38 2003)
An A to Z listing of natural foods. Each entry includes an illustration and information about the food's nutritional value and its folklore. A glossary, list of readings, and an index are also provided.

Oxford Companion to Food. 1999. (Ref. TX 349 D36 1999)
Short definitions on any term or concept related to food. This international dictionary defines the origin of the term, describes it, and gives examples of its use.

HANDBOOKS

Cambridge World History of Food. 2000. (Ref. TX 355 C255 2000)
A comprehensive handbook that provides lengthy descriptions and bibliographies of nutrition. Qualities of staple foods, liquids, and nutrients are contained in Volume 1 and historical, political and geographical aspects of nutrition are addressed in Volume 2. A dictionary of terms and indexes by name and subject facilitate the use of this source.

American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide. 2002. (Ref. RA 784 D89 2002)
Analyses of food groups, information about healthy eating, and other nutritional issues are provided in this handbook. Appendices include charts illustrating dietary allowance, growth, and body mass index.

CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition. 2006. (Ref. QP 141 B523 2006)
This resource defines terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition.