Skip to main content

Criminal Justice

Find Articles and Books

OneSearch
Search our discovery tool that searches most of our databases and the catalog at the same time.

Books not at UWF

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat, a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

Background Sources

Most reference books dealing with film studies can be found in the book stacks in the PN 1995 call number range on the first floor.

 

Handbook of Research Methods: A Guide for Practitioners and Students in the Social Sciences. 2002. (Ref. Q 180.55 M4 S67 2002)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS). 2001. (Ref. H 41 I58 2001).
Practice of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice. 2001. (Reserve HV 6024.5 B33)
National Criminal Justice Thesaurus. 1998. (Ref. Z 695.1 C84 U54a 1998)

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. 2004. 3 volumes. (Ref. H 62 S34 2004)


 Directories

American Correctional Association 2001 Directory. 2001. (Ref. HV 9463 D57 2001)
CEA Directory for Correctional Educators. 2007. (Ref. HV 8875 C32)
Corrections Connection  http://www.corrections.com/
Network of Knowledge: A Directory of Criminal Justice Information Sources. Annual. (U.S. Doc. J 28.20:)

Education & Employment
Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security, and Protective Services. 2000. (Ref. HV 8143 E34 2000)
Thomas Nelson Guide to Careers in Criminal Justice. 2006. (Ref. HV 9960 C2 074)
Your Criminal Justice Career: A Guidebook. 2nd edition. 2002. (Ref HV 9950 Y69 2002)

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases. 2005. Ref. HV 7411 C48) & FWB
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice. 2001. (Ref HV 9950 B364 2001)
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice. 4 volumes. 2002. (Ref. HV 6017 E52 2002) & FWB
Encyclopedia of Criminology. 3 volumes. 2005. (Ref. HV 6017 E5295)
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior. 4 volumes. 2001. (Ref. HV 6017 E53)
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System. 2004. (Ref. RA 1057.55 P34 2004)
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences. 3 volumes. 2000. (Ref. HV 8073 E58)
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-Fighting: From Airport Security to the ZYX Computer Virus. 2004. (Ref. HV 6773 N48 2004
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice. 2003. (Ref. HV 9104 E58 2003)
Encyclopedia of Law & Society . 2007. (Ref. KF 583 E53)
Encyclopedia of Murder & Violent Crime. 2003. (Ref. HV 6515 E5323 2003)
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime. 2000. (Ref. HV 6046 E56)
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law. 2002. (Ref. HV 7436 G8783 2002)
Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. 2002. 4 volumes. (Ref. K 48 L44 2002)
The U.S. Federal Prison System. 2002. (Ref. HV 9471 B677 2002