Skip to main content

Social Work: Books

New Books

Books in the Catalog

Background Sources

Most reference books dealing with social servces can be found in the HV1-HV9920 call number range on the first floor.

Reference Guides and Bibliographies

Author's Guide to Social Work Journals. 1997. (Ref. HV 85 A93)
Group Work with the Elderly: An Annotated Bibliography. 1997.
(Ref. HV 1461 A27 1997)
Handbook of Research Methods: A Guide for Practitioners and Students in the Social Sciences. 2nd edition. 2002. (Ref. Q 180 .55 M4 S67 2002)
Research Methods in Social Work. 2004. (HV 11 R69)
Research Methods for Social Workers. 1999. (Ref. HV 11 Y43)
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. 2004. 3 volumes. (Ref. H 62 S34 2004)
Social Science Reference Sources: A Practical Guide. 1990. (Ref. H 61 L515)
Social Worker's Guide to the Internet. 2001. (Ref. HV 29 .2 M37)

Style Manuals

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
. 2001. (Ref. Desk BF 76 .7 P83 and Reserve) & FWB or guides to citing electronic resources visit:
APA Guide http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html
PsychWeb
http://www.psychwww.com/resource/apacrib.htm
Writing with Style: APA Style for Social Work. 2000. (Ref. HM 586 S98)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

American Community Organizations: A Historical Dictionary. 1986. (Ref. HN 90 C6 A69) .
Encyclopedia of Adolescence. 2 volumes. 1991. (Ref. HQ 796 E58)
Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics. 2 volumes. 2001. (Ref. HQ 1061 E53)
Encyclopedia of American Prisons. 2003. (Ref. HV 9471 S54 2003)
Encyclopedia of Social Work. 3 volumes. 1965- (Ref. HV 35 S6 19th ed. 1995 & FWB).
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS). 2001. (Ref. H 41 I58 2001 & available)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. 18 volumes. 1968. (Ref. H 40 A2 I5)
National Survey of State Laws. 1993. (Ref. KF 386 N38)
Social Science Encyclopedia. 1996.(Ref. H 41 S63) & FWB (Ref. H 41 S63 1999)
Social Work Dictionary. 1999. (Ref. HV 12 B37& FWB).

Handbooks and Yearbooks

Annual Review of Psychology. Annual. 1950- (Book Stacks BF 30 .A56) and available online at http://psych.AnnualReviews.org
Developments and Research on Aging: An International Handbook. 1993.
(Ref. HQ 1061 D48 1993)
Handbook of Empirical Social Work Practice. 2 volumes. 1998. (Ref. HV 43 H316)
Juvenile Justice and Children's Law. 2nd edition. 2001. (Ref. KF 9780 .J375 2001)
Non-Profit Organization Handbook. 1988. (Ref. HV 91 N58)
Older Floridians Handbooks.  http://elderaffairs.state.fl.us/doea/pubs/pubs/OFHB.PDF 
Social Work Almanac. 1995. (Ref. HV 90 G53)
Social Work and the Law. 1985. (Ref KF 390 .5 P6 B7 1985)

Careers

Careers in Social Work. 1998.(Ref. HV 10 .5 .G55 1998)
Directory of Colleges and Universities with Accredited Social Work Degree Programs. September 2001. (Ref. HV 11 .D585)
Social Work Career Development: A Handbook for Job Hunting and Career Planning. 1997. (Ref. HV 10 .5 .D63 1997)
Summary Information on Master of Social Work Programs. 2000/2001.
(Ref. HV 11 .C772a)

Directories

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Annual. (Ref. Desk PREX 2.20:) and available online at http://www.cfda.gov.

Directory of Community Services: A Directory of Health & Human Encyclopedia of Associations. Annual. (Ref. Desk AS 22 E5) and Gale Ready Reference Shelf

Foundation Directory. Annual with supplement. (Ref. Desk AS 911 A2 F65) & FWB See also:

  • Charitable Organizations of the U.S. (Ref. HV 89 C48 1992)
  • Complete Guide to Florida Foundations (Ref. HV 98 F5 C55) & FWB
  • Foundation Center http://www.fdncenter.org
  • GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations http://www.guidestar.org 
    This searchable database presents more than 700,000 U.S. nonprofit organizations.
  • Human Service Organizations: Their Publications: A Directory of Selected Sources. 1996. (Ref. HV 89 H849)
    National social service organizations are also listed on Social Work Access Network (SWAN)  http://www.socialworkfuture.org/
  • International Foundation Directory (Ref. HV 97 A3 I58 1991)

Public Human Services Directory. Annual. (Ref. HV 89 A55) Also visit the Economic Success Clearinghouse http://www.financeproject.org/index.cfm?page=24

Statistics 

Florida: State Health Statistics http://www.floridahealthfinder.gov/  

Kids Count Data Book: State Profiles of Child Well-Being. 2002. (Ref. HQ 792 .U5 K53 2002) See also Key Facts About Children: A Report on the Status of Florida's Children (Ref. HQ 792 .U5 K4 1996). Also see KIDS COUNT Census Data Online at http://www.kidscount.org/census.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Annual. (Ref. Desk C3:134 or Ref. Desk HA 202 U58) and http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/. See also FedStats http://www.fedstats.gov. For comprehensive statistics on Florida, consult the Florida Statistical Abstract (Ref. Desk HA 311 F55)

Uniform Crime Reports. Annual. (Ref. Desk Gov. Docs. J1.14/7) and http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm See also  Uniform Crime Reports for Florida (FLA. DOC. LE.A 3:C64) and Florida Department of Law Enforcement http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/Content/home.aspx 

Vital Statistics of the United States. 1937- (U.S. DOC. HE 20.6210:year/vols.)

Vital statistics and other public health-related statistics may be found at the National Center for Health Statistics http://www.cdc.gov/nchs. See also Florida Vital Statistics (FLA. DOC. HRS.I 3:V 4 7/year) and http://www.doh.state.fl.us.