Skip to main content

Philosophy: Books

Books in the Catalog

Good Reads

Background Sources

Dictionaries

Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Social Thought. 1993. (Ref. H 41 B53 1993)
Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy. 1989. (Ref. B 131 G67 1989)
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. 1999. (Ref. B 41 C35 1999)
Dictionary of Christian Ethics. 1967. (Ref. BJ 63 M3)
Dictionary of Existentialism. 1999. (Ref. B 819 D455 1999)
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
Dictionary of Philosophy. 1986. (Ref. B 41 L32 1986)
Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought. 1980. (Ref. B 41 R43 1980)
Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Pivotal Ideas. 5 volumes. 1974. (Ref. CB 5 D52)

Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers. 1960. (Ref. B 41 U7 1960)
Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. 13 volumes. 1955. (Ref. BL 31 E4)
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. 4 volumes. 1998. (Ref. BJ 63 E44 1998)
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. 2001. (Ref. B 121 E53 2001)
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen. 1989. (Ref. BL 1005 L4813 1989)
Encyclopedia of Empiricism. 1997. (Ref. B 816 E53 1997)
Encyclopedia of Ethics. 3 volumes. 2001. (Ref. BJ 63 E45 2001 & Emerald Coast Library)
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies. Volumes 2 & 5. 1970. (Ref. B 131 E5)
Encyclopedia of Morals. 1969. (Ref. BJ 63 F4 1969)
Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 8 volumes. 1967. (Ref. B 41 .E5)
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. 1996. (Ref. B 802 W48 1996)
Ethics. 3 volumes. 2005. (Ref. BJ 63 E54 2005)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Masterpieces of World Philosophy. 1990. (Ref. B 75 M37 1990)
Meta-Encyclopedia of Philosophy 
Oxford Companion to Philosophy. 1995. (Available via netLibrary)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 10 volumes plus CD-ROM. 1998.
(Ref. B 51 R68 1998)
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Handbooks and Companions

Blackwell Companions to Philosophy is a student reference series that offers a comprehensive survey of philosophy as a whole. Each volume provides coverage of key figures, terms, and movements of the main subdisciplines of philosophy. Each essay is fully crossed-referenced and supported by a selected bibliography.

  • Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists. (HM 478 B583 2000)
  • Blackwell Companion to Philosophy. ( B 21 B56 1996)
  • Blackwell Companion to Social Theory. ( H 61 B4773 2000)
  • Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy. (JA 71 C565 1995)
  • Companion to Continental Philosophy. ( B 803 C66 1999)
  • Companion to Ethics. (BJ 1012 C62 1991)
  • Companion to Feminist Philosophy. (HQ 1190 C665 2000)
  • Companion to Philosophy of Law & Legal Theory. (KF 379 C66 1999)
  • Companion to Philosophy of Religion. (Emerald Coast Lib. BL 51 C634 1997)
  • Companion to the Philosophy of Language. (P 106 C5945 1997)
  • Companion to the Philosophy of Mind. (BD 418 .3 C62 1995)
  • Companion to World Philosophies. (B 121 C664 1997)

Handbook of Western Philosophy. 1988. (Ref. B 804 H17 1988)
Ready Reference to Philosophy East and West. 1987. (Ref. B 72 B34 1987)