Skip to main content

Medicine: Understanding Results

A guide to research resources on medicine and health

Understanding Results

The results found in a search are listed:

  • by Relevance (the list can be changed to sort by author, most recent, etc.)
  • in a  brief view but that can be changed using Page Options to a detailed or title only view
  • in groups of 30 results displayed in 3 columns   (this can be changed using Page Options)

Using the Share dropdown menu allows you to email your results and initiate an RSS feed for updating your search 

Each result

  • is identified by publication type (since we limited to academic journals, those are the only ones displayed in our example)
  • if there is full text availability, it is indicated by the, which will link you to the full text version of the article
  • if there is no full text version, click on  to see if there is full text availability in our other databases
  • click on the title of the article to get the full record

Understanding a Record

Each record contains fields that are labeled to identify

  • the author and the author's affiliation
  • Source information, which includes the name of the journal (e.g., British Journal of Cardiac Nursing), article date (e.g., May 2013), volume number (e.g., 8), issue number (e.g., 5), and page numbers (e.g., 237-40).
  • major subjects that describe the main focus of the article - these can be used to create new searches of relevant topics simply by clicking on them
  • minor subjects that are mentioned in the article 

Links to the full text version are indicated by or click on  to locate full text availability in other databases.

Interlibrary Loan is always available if the library does not own the journal (articles will be delivered electronically within a few days and are free) or book (books arrive for pickup in about a week).

 

Tools

Use the Tools on the right side of the record to print, email, or save an individual record. 

  • The cite feature provides formatted citations in popular styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago):

Managing Citations

The Export feature sends citations to a Citation Manager. These handy tools store your citations and formats them in bibliographies according to selected styles. RefWorks is the Citation Manager available at UWF, and there is a tutorial explaining how it works.