Skip to main content

Boost Your Scholarly Profile: Task 1

This guide is designed to help UWF faculty members raise their scholarly profile.

Measure Your Current Professional Impact

Before you begin completing tasks that will enhance your scholarly profile, you may want to get a baseline measurement of your scholarly impact and profile right now.  After completing the series of tasks in this program, you can repeat these steps to note the changes and improvement to the accessibility of your scholarship and the quality of your public profile. Throughout your career, check in on your "professional self" online and update areas that need attention (hint: many of these areas will be covered in the tasks ahead!).

Why does this task matter?

Taking stock of the ways in which your scholarship is discovered, viewed, and used can help give you ideas on expanding your reach.  Updating your professional profile can help potential collaborators and scholars network with you while making your work more discoverable will yield more citations of your work in future studies.  These improvements will not only provide you with a strengthened portfolio for promotion but ensure that your scholarship continues through collaborations and future research.

Steps to complete the task

Google (and Google Scholar) Yourself.

View how your professional profile and scholarship are seen online via the most-used search engine.

1. Google your name (hint: if you have a common name, you may want to also Google your affiliation along with it).  Record the different places you appear and note which results come up first (LinkedIn, UWF website, etc). Are these sites up-to-date? What could be improved? What results do you wish would rise to the top?

2. Do the same in Google Scholar. How many citations do you have for each publication? Are your articles easy to find? Are they accessible in full-text?

Note: don't try to update all of this right now. Just observe. We'll get to many of them throughout the summer!

Bonus: Take a snapshot of your web results using a snipping tool. Save them "Scholarly Profile Summer 2016" for future reference.


Check Web of Science.

Web of Science is the recognized standard for citation searching. You can obtain a Researcher ID and use it to view/track publication history in ISI-listed publications, create citation reports, and calculate h-index. Web of Science indexes over 12,000 high impact journals in 250 disciplines, and includes:

  • Science Citation Index (1965 to present)
  • Social Science Citation Index (1965 to present)
  • Biological Abstracts (1969 to present)
  • Medline (1950 to present)
  • SciELO Citation Index (1997 to present)

1. Access Web of Science through the library's Databases A-Z list
2. Switch from Basic Search to Cited Reference Search (blue arrow dropdown box)
3. Enter information about the cited work and click “Search”
4. Select the results you would like to view and click "Finish Search" - the results list includes all the articles citing the author and work you searched
5. Click on the title of the citing article to reveal more about the number of references the author cited, and how many times he or she has been cited

*For more detailed instructions on Cited Reference searching in Web of Science, see: http://libguides.uwf.edu/citations/WOS


Check Cabell's Directories.

Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities can help you select journals that are most likely to publish your manuscript by providing a journal’s subject emphasis, acceptance rate, and review process.  Subject coverage includes Business, Education, Sciences, Psychology, and Health.

*Of particular importance is the inclusion of the Journal Impact Factor from Journal Citation Reports, when available.  This can give you an idea of the impact of your previous publications.

1. Access Cabell's Directories through the library's Databases A-Z list
2. Enter a title or title keyword(s) in the search box
3. Use the Advanced functions to refine your search by Impact Factor, ISSN, publisher, acceptance rate, review type, etc.
4. Click "Journal Details" for specific information about a particular journal 
5. For a side-by-side comparison of multiple journals, click "Compare Journals" under each title you would like to include (the tab will turn green) - then click "Compare" in the pop-up window 

Additional Information on Measuring Your Impact

As you've already read, measuring your scholarly impact is an integral and crucial part for professional development. In addition to the above steps, cited reference searching, citation chaining, understanding journal impact factors, and citation management can help you promote your scholarly impact. For more information on cited reference searching, visit our guide!