Skip to main content

STEM: Welcome!

Library resources for STEM (science, technology, engineering, math).

What's the deal with STEM?

The United States has developed as a global leader, in large part, through the genius and hard work of its scientists, engineers, and innovators. In a world that’s becoming increasingly complex, where success is driven not only by what you know, but by what you can do with what you know, it’s more important than ever for our youth to be equipped with the knowledge and skills to solve tough problems, gather and evaluate evidence, and make sense of information. These are the types of skills that students learn by studying science, technology, engineering, and math—subjects collectively known as STEM. - U.S. Department of Education

Use this guide to search appropriate databases, find scholarly-scientific information, evaluate resources, get citation help, and much more!  Always contact your librarian if you have a question.

Getting Started With Keywords

Is it Scholarly or Popular?

Mad Scientist Break!

Overwhelmed? Don't be. Take a breath, look at this puppy, and ask a librarian for help.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Picking A Database

Why is picking a database important?  

Databases may be subject specific.  For example, if you are looking up an article on computer engineering you don't want to be in a database about U.S. History.  

What else?

Each database contains different pieces of information so it's important to check a few of them.  Think of it like this:  Netflix, Amazon, and Hulu all have different shows.  Each database is like a different streaming service, except instead of movies & tv, they have journals.  You may get different results, possibly some that are more helpful, by searching in multiple places.

Ask A Librarian!

Jane Daugherty

OneSearch