Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Powell - NWFSC): English Composition I: Emerald Coast Library Materials

Guide to doing research on the Victorian authors using the resources of UWF Emerald Coast Library and the Northwest Florida State College Learning Resources Center.

UWF Emerald Coast Library

UWF Emerald Coast Library
Home Page

The Fort Walton Beach Center is a joint campus of Northwest Florida State College and the University of West Florida.

By agreement, UWF is responsible for operating the library, but you are welcome to use our materials and services! You can even request to have library materials sent here from UWF's Pensacola campus or NWF's Niceville campus.

Our Hours

Welcome Back!

Regular Hours

Mon - Thurs   8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 5 pm
Saturday 1 pm - 5 pm
Sunday CLOSED
Click for Special Hours

Library Staff

Paul Williford
Librarian
850-863-6577
williford@uwf.edu
Photo of Paul Williford
Flora Jettner
Information Specialist
850-863-6589
fjettner@uwf.edu
Photo of Flora Jettner
Russ Salsman
Information Specialist
850-863-6576
rsalsman@uwf.edu
Photo of Russ Salsman

Emerald Coast Library Materials

Materials owned by the Emerald Coast Library are listed in the UWF Library Catalog.

Where are the books?

Books in the UWF Emerald Coast Campus Lib General Collection are located on the second floor of our library and may be checked out.

Map of Second Floor

Books in the UWF Emerald Coast Campus Lib Reference collection are located on the first floor of our library and may not be checked out, but you are welcome to use them in the building!"

If you see a book owned at the UWF Pensacola campus (UWF Book Stacks), you can request to have it sent to the Emerald Coast Library by clicking on "Request Transfer":

Be sure to specify "UWF Emerald Coast Campus Lib" as your pick-up location!  The Pensacola-to-Fort Walton courier runs three days a week: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. 

We will call and/or email you when the book arrives.

Library Cards

Your NWFSC Raider Card serves as your library card.

If you are a Northwest Florida State College student and have not checked out materials from our library, stop by our Check Out Desk to get registered in our system.

If you are enrolled in the NWF2UWF program, you may also use your UWF Nautilus Card to check out books and other materials.

Borrowing Materials

Check Out DeskNWF Students may check out six items from the Emerald Coast Library at a time.

Items may be returned or renewed at either the UWF Emerald Coast or Pensacola campus.  Books checked out from the Pensacola campus may be returned or renewed at the Emerald Coast Library.  Online renewal is also available.  You may also return UWF Library materials at NWF Niceville, but you cannot renew items there.

Materials checked out from NWF Niceville Learning Resources Center may also be returned at the Emerald Coast Library, but you must renew them in Niceville, over the phone (850-729-5318) or online through the "My Account" function of the LRC Catalog.

Useful Resources in Reference Collection

We have materials in our Reference Collection (on our first floor) that may be useful to you for this assignment:

Poetry Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991- (Ref. PN 1010 P499)
More than 80 volumes of excerpted critical essays of poetry with biographical information on the featured poets. Use the cumulative indexes at the back of the last volume to find content in the entire set.
Short Story Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, 1988- (Ref. PN 3373 S386)
More than 100 volumes of excerpted critical essays of short fiction with biographical information on the featured authors. Use the cumulative indexes at the back of the last volume to find content in the entire set. Entries for Dickens are found in volumes 17, 49 and 88.
Critical Survey of Poetry. Second Revised Edition. 8 vols. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2003 (Ref. PN 1021 C7 2003)
Arranged by author, this set includes brief biographical information and summary analyses of the poet's major works.
Critical Survey of Long Fiction. Second Revised Edition. 8 vols. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2000 (Ref. PN 3451 C75 2000)
Arranged by author, this set includes brief biographical information and summary analyses of the author's major works. The entry for Dickens is in volume 2.
Poets: American and British. 3 vols. New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, 1998 (Ref. PS 303 P64 1998)
Articles combining biography and criticism of major poets in the English language.
Oxford Companion to English Literature. Fifth edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 1985. (Ref. PR 19 D73 1985)
Summary information on authors, works and movements in English literature.
Bedford Handbook. Eighth edition. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2010. (Ref. PE 1408 H277 2010)
The chapter on "Writing MLA Papers" is found on pages 491-620. MLA documentation of references is described in the orange-edged pages beginning on page 517.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Eighth edition. New York: Modern Language Association, 2016. (Ref. LB 2369 G53 2016)
Guidance in how to format a research paper and cite references according to MLA style.

Your Librarian

Paul Williford's picture
Paul Williford
Contact:
UWF Emerald Coast Library
1170 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547-3068
Phone: 850-863-6577
Email: williford@uwf.edu

Ask Us!

Telephone: 850-863-6578

Email the Librarian: williford@uwf.edu


or ... Send Us Your Question:

Your Email Address (required):

Your Name:

Your Phone Number: